. .


Sunday

2003-04-28 / 12:23 a.m.

Sunday, sunday, sunday. Went to stockbridge to visit the aunt and uncle, and to have unbelieveably handy airline mechanic uncle fix up my car. The day was, well, pretty freaking good--probably because I was not doing homework. Gah! I've become such a slacker!

I got up at 7:15 this morning...::groan:: Flute choir played at the Alumni weekend worship service, so that was an early morning thing. It didn't go that well, but it wasn't really our fault.

Changed clothes, and went out to buy a belated birthday someting for my aunt, ended up getting her a really beautiful and lovely smelling pot of freesia at the Decatur farmers market. ::drool:: I heart you, farmers market. If I had money, I would spend a lot there. I over-indulged on some really fantastic cheese samples there--One of those slick manuvers when I pass the sample table a few times... ::blush::

On the way there, I stopped at N. Dekalb mall and rounded out a weekend of emotionally driven shopping by buying the much-coveted lemon purse at Davrans. Saturday, I bought a wallet, some clearance jeans at Lerner (::sniff sniff:: how can they discontinue my jeans?!), a tee-shirt at lerner, and a clearanced polo at Gap, and a cute belt at JCP. sigh. I should be saving for Argentina, I know...but at least I didn't buy anything totally frivilous or anything non-sale.

So I finally got to my aunt and uncle's house, and I spent most of the afternoon just sitting in the sun talking to my aunt while the uncle worked on the car--which is so nice of him. Ultimately, the new water pump he installed didn't work right, and it was getting late. The prognosis was that the car would have to stay there awhile, so my benevelent relatives loaned me their Saturn Vue for a few days. Good times, good times. I also got a home cooked meal, ice cream, and a day of slacking around in the sunshine. Yes sir, it was a good day. Unfortunately, it must end now...Monday morning activity begins in 6 hours. ::groan:: Ciao. perhaps I'll elaborate if I have some time to write tomorrow.


blip

2003-04-26 / 4:48 p.m.

writing a really bullshitty sociology paper about my own personal socialization. This should be so easy, yet I'm having trouble...it's hard to write about yourself!

Been having a lot of smell-triggered memories today. Grandma's House, hospital, Malluck's living room, pittsburg airport. yeah, I know. strange. I wonder if I'll maintain this strong memory-smell connection as I get older--I bet I will. My mother has a strange memory quirk...she has an average memory otherwise, but can seem to remember almost every dog's name from her whole life. When we look at old photos, she often draws a blank as to who the people in them are, but always points out the pets--dogs in particular. It's weird

You're weird. I'm weird.


FRIDAY!

2003-04-25 / 8:20 a.m.

Friday! Too early Friday, but still friday. Blessing counted. I'm sorry I havn't had time to write lately, but stupid little things keep piling up. I should be able to make a better update soon...this isn't going to turn into one of those things where its days and days and days between updates--I'm busy, but it isn't that close to finals yet :)


Litigation as a tool for social change? Whatever.

2003-04-23 / 11:30 p.m.

Finally took back the watch that wouldn't stop beeping that I couldn't set, and exchanged it for another cheap digital watch which I can set. Woo woo, exciting stuff

In other news, I finished The Paper last night ::cheering:: I think it actually came out pretty good, but let's not jinx it. I'd probably have to get at least an an A- on this paper and the next to get an A in the class, but here's to hoping!

I was talking to another student I know who applied for one of the same internship programs I applied for...she said she called today, and apparently they're going to send out notices tomorrow. Eep! In theory, this time next week I could be in the process of setting up interviews with up to three paying employers...I could also be sitting at this computer sobbing. Life is funny :/

That's about all she wrote...or all she's going to write. She's going to go to bed before long, because she's getting up at ten to seven to work out because she doesn't want to have to rush to do so before work. She's dreading it, don't worry. :)


revelation

2003-04-23 / 2:36 p.m.

I can't believe my sophomore year of college is almost over.


>:(

2003-04-22 / 1:39 p.m.

Comment, you fools!


Smarterchild

2003-04-22 / 11:14 a.m.

::gasp:: Smarterchild is back!! hahaha, but no...it looks like they're trying to charge people now. Bwwwaaaahahahaha. Who would pay for smarterchild?!


Bed so good.

2003-04-21 / 11:43 p.m.

I can't believe how little of the semester is left! I have, like, 10 days of classes before finals start, and most of you out there in reader-land probably have way less. I just wish I knew if I have a decent job/internship for the summer. I want one so badly it hurts me almost physically to think about not getting either of the ones I *really* want. My cousin says he'll try to see if he can find me anything at his company (he works for a really huge company) so maybe he can. It's about time that I reap some benefits of nepotism...I see it everyday, but I've never had the connections...

But anyway, the point...the point was that the semester is almost over, and I'm not sure what I'm going to do with myself yet, but one thing's for sure: I can't wait to have some time to do some pleasure reading! I'm mentally composing a list of fun things I want to tackle this summer, and while I undoubtedly won't get to all of them, suggestions are invited!! So far, I plan to read:

  • Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser. I bought this over Christmas, and havn't had time to touch it. I've heard it's really really interesting. They read it in a senior seminar last year, and I heard a lot of positive things from people in the POL major

  • The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood. I started this last summer, and never got to finish it because I had so much reading as soon as I got to school in the fall

  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix!!!!! If you didn't see this one coming, you're a moron. I plan to go with Hillary and buy it the night it comes out. :)
  • At least one of the books on my Amazon wishlist about Argentina.

There are more, but right now I think I'm going to go to bed. It's early, but sleep seems extra alluring this time of the semester...bed. so. comfortable.


Easter Weekend

2003-04-21 / 11:03 p.m.

Ohh, what a sweet treat it has become to take a few minutes to sit and write. We're about on hour 16 of my day, and I can feel the hours dragging down every part of me. This weekend was pretty sweet though...well, at least the part where I pretended that I didn't have any school work to be doing. ha ha ha ha.

So, the big regret of the weekend was not going to Vodka Communion. Yeah yeah, I know...the way I talked it up, you'd think I would have gone...I had the best intentions to, but come Friday night, I just felt crappy. Crappy mentally and crappy physically. Not in the mood to drink or to socialize. I guess I don't so much regret my decision not to go--because I wouldn't have had much fun going depressed with a splitting headache--I regret not feeling like going. Gah. I suck. It looks like it was a lot of fun.

So what did I do on Friday? Our school makes good Friday a class holiday, so I mostly did homework and slacked around during the day. In the evening, I watched part of a movie, Before Night Falls before the DVD fucked up, and then I went to sleep. Not much more to it.

Because of my general discontent Friday, I didn't get so much done on my paper, so the bulk of Saturday-day was devoted to that. I got a considerable amount done over the course of the day, working in short bursts and waiting for inspiration. Somewhere between 4:30 and 5:00 something snapped though, and I couldn't even look at it anymore. I pulled a draft together, mailed it to the prof for feedback and left. Abruptly and decisively. I cleaned up my workspace, packed up some excess junk I don't need here cluttering up the room, and went home.

When I got home, I was hit with renewed zeal to look for a ring I haven�t seen in many months. It's the first piece of jewelry I've ever lost, and it's driving me insane. Sadly, it was not found. When my mom got home, she and I drove here and there...mostly just to be moving while we spoke. I find that I have better conversations with my mother when we're out or driving around--she pays more attention. She told me about the peace march she had participated in, and raved about Bowling for Columbine. I want to see that so badly, by the way. Does anyone have a concrete date about when it comes out?

In the course of driving around, besides accomplishing some decent conversation, the two of us: went to Target--I bought another bra-free-tank-top-of-joy; went to Wal-Mart--where I succeeded in finding coloring books with generic pictures rather than trademarked characters (added bonus, they're English-Spanish!), the anniversary box of Crayolas, and some kickass shimmery lotion; and went to look at different cars she's thinking of buying. Oh! Speaking of the cars, it looks like chances are good that I'll be inheriting the Sunfire in the next few weeks! Anyone want to buy a super sexy Volvo??!?!? I think my uncle is going to fix it up a good bit for me, so I'm hoping that I'll be able to get a few bucks for it...I dunno, we'll see. I'm planning on posting ads Monday.

Sunday we went to The Aunt and Uncle's house. I had a good time, watched Harry Potter 2, and ate!!! ohhhh, home cooking is so tasty! Bad for you, but tasty. mmmmmm. It was definitely worth the calories. :) :) After we left there, it was more of the same type of killing time from the day before, and it was just as nice. I feel like I really re-connected with the mother, which is great.

That brings us up to speed, because today was just your average busy Monday. Nothing notable really. Worked on that $#@$&( paper, handled a lot of e-mail, read some of my Colombia Book....the usual. This has been the most relaxing part of the day, and I'm sad that I don't have any more journal to create at the moment :) Thanks for reading. heh




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .