. .


sunny day

2003-09-13 / 8:55 a.m.

Dear internal clock that wakes me up in the morning,

Please learn the fucking difference between "weekday" and "weekend"

Yours,

Em


It's Friday, I'm in love

2003-09-12 / 3:45 p.m.

Have we been waiting all week for this trite title, or what?

My mom's friend (the one we visited in NY) might be coming to visit in a week or so. We were talking about what kind of stuff they could do in the event that she does come to visit, and ended up discussing restaurants at length. So whatever, the point of the story is that I thought I'd reproduce my restaurant-wishlist here in case any of you had any suggestions/commentary or whatever

Or maybe I just don't have anything good to make an entry out of. whatever. anyway...this is by no means a complete list ;)

Places I want to try:

Sweet Devil Moon
Ashtons
Nicola's
Viet Chateau
Fat Matt's
Gilbert's
Pura Vida
Fogo*
Sage*
Royal Orchid
Cafe Istanbul*
Daahba
Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen

Places I want to go to again:

Hong Kong Harbor
El Myr
Maui Tacos
Raging Burrito
Athens Pizza
Little Szechuan
Jake's (there's a no brainer)
Tierra*
Madras somethingsomething....you know the place I'm talking about

*-denotes someplace on the more expensive side that I'd save for a special occasion


Thursday I don't care about you.

2003-09-11 / 1:25 p.m.

I wish I could just sleep through days like today. I wonder why I don't.


The more I work, the sillier it seems

2003-09-10 / 4:32 p.m.

Moral Minority thread I found amusing.


...and Wednesday too

2003-09-10 / 4:08 p.m.

I'm rewarding myself for finishing my stupid stupid stupid philosophy reading analysis by writing a journal entry before I embark on more homework. I don't really have anything to say, but somehow it's still an enjoyable way to spend a few minutes.

Today in Spanish, we got several over-the-course-of-the-semester type assignments, once of which is a set of film analyses where we have very few rules about which films we can pick!! HUZZAH! I think for the first one, which is due very soon (thanks for the notice, Dr. S) I'm going to either re-watch All About my Mother/Todo sobre mi madre or Talk to Her/Hable con Ella, also on my list is at least one other Almod�var film, and Abre los Ojos--the movie Vanilla Sky was based on. Anyone interested in watching with me? I'll probably rent on this weekend, or Monday night.

Today I learned of the existence of the word "graffito"--which is the singular of "graffiti". Go figure.

Random people watching has been a prolific activity in the center today. A few minutes ago, a confused looking guy cautiously came into the WC carrying several takeout boxes of yummy smelling food for his girlfriend�I think it's Doc Chey's, and the smell of it is making me very hungry. lol. There's a girl in here that has not one, not two, but three pens stuck in her bun (reminds me somewhat of myself). There's also a girl who appears to have fallen asleep sitting up at the computer next to me. I think she's on the verge of starting to snore�she's in that pre-snore-noisy-breathing-stage.

Okay, enough of that. I'm off to do some Spanish homework now, then back to my room to retrieve The Lexus and the Olive Tree and hopefully finish it tonight (since my discussion platform thingie is due Friday). Ciao!


Lazybones

2003-09-09 / 2:55 p.m.

EmilyIM: I picked up the yearbook from my freshman year today...there was a bad staff that year, so they're just now done. I look terrible. It's awful. :-)

JoeIM: tee hee

JoeIM: i bet you look better than you say

EmilyIM: Not only is it a bad picture, but I had NO IDEA how much weight I had put on that year

EmilyIM: my first thought was "Why the fuck didn't anyone point out to me that I gained, like, 20 pounds?!" but I guess that woudln't have been a very friendly thing to say to someone :-P


Tuesday's gray

2003-09-09 / 8:40 a.m.

This morning I was all geared up to actually use the gym, which has just recently hired enough student workers to open in the mornings. I went in, took the last treadmill available, and started going...but I found it hot, too dark, oppressive and crowded. I jogged for about 2.5 minutes and gave up, preferring instead to jog outside. I'm such a fucking creature of habit...honestly, how long have I been complaining about having to use the track? About three weeks. What did I do this morning? I ran on the track. unggh. I think I opted for the track because it's gotten easier as of late--which is bad. I need to challenge myself. I've justified this by adding two more laps than last week lately...though I still don't think I'm probably working hard enough to get optimal effects. I have a feeling that as it starts to get colder, I'll be retreating indoors to exercise.

So what else is new? nada. I read a lot for school--that's about it. Sadly, I'm already stressing out about my grades. It's the third week of school, and I'm weighing the benefits of taking the Middle East class pass/fail. Alas. I can see myself falling back into the same patterns as I always do, and it is so pathetic. I'm beginning to think that next semester's voyage to Argentina really will be good for me.

Tonight I've got to go shopping--it's my week to get food for the WC staff meeting. I'm thinking of bagels and fruit...anyone want to take an excursion to the grocery store and perhaps farmer's market with me this evening? Better yet, does anyone have any tasty suggestions for feeding about 15 chicks around brunch-time?

I'm going to head off now. There's still reading to be done before class, and showering to be done before reading. Ciao!!


Golf guy.

2003-09-08 / 9:47 p.m.

My freshman year of college, I worked opening shift at the library on Monday mornings. I'd get there a little before 8:00, and wait for the front doors to be unlocked. Almost every morning, there would be a 50-something man also waiting for the doors to open. He was never apparently carrying anything except a single golf club. Once the doors opened, I don't know what part of the library he used, but he always took his golf club with him. Sometimes he would offer lame pleasantries about the weather, and I'd reply in kind...but he always struck me as a little off. Maybe it was the golf club.

So anyway, guess who I see on my way back from the track this morning? yep...you guessed it. Didn't recognize him at first, because I was a good bit behind him on the walkway. All I noticed was a man walking along carrying something in his hand...looked kind of like an umbrella at first. There was little doubt as to his identity though, as he paused mid-path (causing me to catch up to him a little) and practiced his swing a few times. He wiggeled his ass, shook out his shoulders, swung a few times, and kept walking right to the library.

Has this man been coming to The College's library every monday morning for over two years now? If you're the type to have a golf club with you when you go to the library, do you just take it everywhere with you? Perhaps he's just a figment of my imagination, as I don't know anyone else who has ever seen him.


I don't care if Monday's blue

2003-09-07 / 10:18 a.m.

I have a few minutes before class starts. I had reserved this time to do my reading for spanish, but it was way less than I originally thought. Yay! I can bang out a mediocre journal entry instead! Huzzah!

It felt particularly fall-ish outside this morning, almost chilly when I first left the dorm to go jog. The gym was open this morning (finally), but I decided to make another morning of exercising outside--I was amused at the novelty of the cooler weather. ::sigh:: another season coming to a close, and we're all a little closer to death.

I think I'm heading toward becomming more of a perfectionist in some ways these days, is that bad? Too bad "perfectionist" doesn't equal "perfection"

I'm retarded and missed the Bush speech last night. I've been so lazy about keeping up with the news and current events lately. It's terrible, I feel so ignorant. This is on my self-improvement list for the week--read the news more.

Gah. This is the third week of the semester, and only the first full week, yet I'm lagging behind on my reading already. WTF?!


Bruce/Bazoonga Party!!!

2003-09-06 / 4:45 p.m.

I'm back from the Bruce/Bazoonga party alive and in one piece--a great time was had by all. (evidence of my excessive happiness) The weekend in its entirety was actually all pretty super�quite overindulgent, but good.

Before the party, I went to see American Splendor with Joe's friends Scott and Sato. The movie was great--I really liked it. Even someone like me, who knows NOTHING about comics, can appreciate it. It's very well made, witty, and quite endearing. The acting also gets a thumbs up. I think after it sinks in a little more, I will be able to better articulate why I liked it, but for right now, we�ll just leave it at that.

After the movie, we went to Sundown cafe, which is owned by the same people as Taqueria del Sol--it�s on Cheshire Bridge just across from Hong Kong Harbor. I had wanted to go there awhile ago...maybe freshman year, because I heard good things about their lunch menu. I was kinda� disappointed with it though. It was kind of mediocre mexican/southwestern. I found my food kind of bland, the menu was pretty limited, and the service was not great. I probably wouldn�t go back.

Joe and I continued from there to the B/B party, which was great fun--see EK�s pictures here. It was terrific to see Bruce again!! He�s a huggable, charisma-filled, joy and it was fun to see him. And, as always, it�s nice to hang out with HB and EK, as I don�t see them much during the average week. :(

I�d write more, but I�ve got lots of neglected homework to do. I think I�m going to shut myself in the WC for a few hours and get my work for tomorrow done, and try to plow through a few more chapters of The Lexus and the Olive Tree.




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .