. .


I�m not dead!

2000-07-03 / 6:27 p.m.

I�m not dead, just really busy working and disfruiting. It leaves little time to writing. There�s an entry in the works on my laptop at home, which I guess I�ll upload tomorrow or monday. In the meantime, random tidbits y novedades:

-I�ve started wearing my glasses just about all the time. Living in a city where I walk around a lot, and have to be able to read street signs to find my way around, has made it PAINFULLY obvious that my vision has gotten a good bit worse as of late.

-Last thursday night was tremendously unlucky. I took aforementioned final. Afterwards, I met Simon and a French friend of his a pub in San Telmo to watch the game between Argentina�s Boca Juniors and Colombia�s Once Caldas. The game went badly, I somehow managed to lose my wallet--again, and a bus crashed into the side of the building.

-Lee, in his tremendous awesomeness, is designing me a new layout, so look for that next week probably.

-Wednesday, I�m headed off to Iguazu.

-Last night, my last Friday in Buenos Aires, was fun. Dan, Keith, Oz and I went to play pool and hang out. I suck far less at pool now than I used to, and both Team Dan&Emily as well as team Keith&Emily won games. Many tasty beverages were imbibed. I came home medio borracha, but pleasantly so.

-The marked increase of beer intake these last couple of weeks combined with the inability to do any serious cardio has been unkind to my ass...but, --and how unexpected is this--I really don�t care all that much at the moment. While you might be thinking that I�ve risen above my stupid, shallow, annoying preoccupacions with my appearance, don�t be so quick to give me that much credit: I�ve just come to the realization that there�s no one at home right now who gives a flying fuck what I look like. :) heh.

-In a week when I have been frustrated with my spanish not being understood because of my INCREDIBLY THICK yanqui accent, I had a victory today...A little old lady on the bus (who was half blind, and barely mobile) asked a dude standing next to her if we had gotten to Parque Rivadavia yet. He told her (incorrectly) that we had already passed it. I intervened, and explained clearly and understandably where we were, and how far from the park we were. What�s more, not one of them asked where I was from....I generally can�t give someone the time of day without them instantly noting that I�m a foreigner and asking why I�m in BsAs.


Agony of the feet.

2004-07-01 / 7:27 p.m.

Infernal ducks. I think I just may have failed (if memory serves me correctly) my second test. The first would be an exam over long division which I took (and failed) in the fourth grade. Unfortunately, this exam is the only grade in the class, and therefore carries a lot more weight than the long division test. I think I�ll probably pass the class, but if I do, it will be juuuussst barely. The exam was five questions, two points per question. I have to get an overall grade of "4" in the class to pass with a D-. I studied, but this test was stupidly specific. For example, we were responsible for over 20 different (lenghty) texts in the course. I read most of them, and skimmed those I didn�t read fully...but ovbiously, this has been over a 4 month period, and I�ve been reading lots of texts for other classes as well. Basically, the point is that Ive read many, many, authors writing about Argentina and Latin America, and they tend to run together. So anyway... Question number three was, more or less: "In Jerk McAsshole�s article, �X, Y, y Z en Am�rica Latina�, what were the three main points he discussed about the tendencies of foreign relacions in Latin America?" What. the. fuck. I didn�t have the foggiest idea. I made an educated guess. I feel incredibly defeated.


placate

2004-06-30 / 10:01 p.m.

To sustain you until I write a real entry....

This date in history




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .