. .


I can blame it all on mom

2004-10-25 / 1:37 p.m.

Oh the irony of everyday life. Why is it when you're least satisfied about how you look, there seem to be reminders of it everywhere. Got my senior picture proofs back today. I look shit-tastic, and of course I'm not going to buy any of them (see mom, I told you so). So now I'm doubly pissed that I wasted my time and energy getting them taken, not to mention that the original viewing of the proofs entailed the same stupidly lame trauma and bout of embarassment as is currently occuring. I place the blame squarely on my mother. I will inflict unacceptable levels of damage to her. On the bright side, now that I'm practically out of school, perhaps I'll never have to be professionally photographed again. Ta ta, off to destroy these proofs on the way to math!


Finally washed ashore

2004-10-25 / 8:24 a.m.

Kudos to Roger for the Guster exposure. I'm not ready to make that sweeping cliche, "if-I-were-stranded-on-a-deserted-island-with-only-five-albums, I would pick..." but I will say that if I were to have to, I dunno, drive to Canada and could only take five CDs, either "Keep it Together" or "Lost and Gone Forever" would probably make the cut.
For those keeping score at home, according to my current caprichos, I think that the other four would be The Blue Album, Rocking the Suburbs, Prolonging the Magic and....hummm, 4th place as a tie between Tidal and Lust in Phaze. How's that for left field there?


Even with the bonnet?

2004-10-24 / 9:20 p.m.

So I saw �I Heart Huckabees� last night. It was kind of insane. I enjoyed it, though I think it was bordering on pretentious at times. Many, many, many political, religious, societal, and philosophical (or so I�m told, as I don�t know jack shit about philosophy) commentaries for one movie, but not too many. It�s clich� to say so, but watching it made me feel weird and reflective. I�d elaborate, but my thoughts were (and usually are) so disjointed and half-complete that they make even less sense in print. Anyway, I�d recommend the movie, though through others I�ve talked to, I get the impression that it�s of those love-it-or-hate-it kinda� deals. I thought that the acting was good, the storyline very clever and the production excellent. It served the purpose of making the viewer consider interesting questions of identity and meaning without being overly moralizing. Some of the political agenda was pushed a little hard, and if it wasn�t stuff I agreed with, I might have found it preachy�.but no worries there, as I wasn�t really in opposition to what the movie was saying. There was a stretch near the end where the action was kind of tapering and could have been advanced a little quicker, and a couple of scenes that were overdone�ie: awkward sex scene in the mud, that was a little much; but otherwise a good overall movie.


Afterwards, we went to the compound where all of the friends I made through Kristen seem to live, and celebrated Roger�s birthday. kinda.� By �celebrate� I guess I just mean �hang out and drink and talk and watch my Aqua Teen Hunger Force DVD.� Again, I have to express the fortunate statistical quirk that all of these guys are really good looking and really cool. What are the odds? Cute, non-assy guys that seem to like me hanging out with them. Blessing noted and counted.

Another stupidly busy week coming up. Go figure. The goal before next Sunday is to have drafts of all 4 statements in good enough shape to take to career planning office. Tuesday, I�m meeting with the graduate rep. for my program at UGA, talking to students, and sitting in on a class. I�m nervous like you wouldn�t believe. I have the nagging feeling that the problem of lacking a defined post-graduation purpose or any solid career goals is going to become painfully obvious to everyone there, and they�re going to tell me not to waste my time in applying. Before you offer up an �awww, it�ll be okay,� as yourself if you have any reason to believe that it actually will �be okay��. I�d prefer a �good luck,� and maybe a stiff drink afterwards.







Lists

2004-10-23 / 10:56 a.m.

2 great lists from McSweeny's this month:

Really Boring Books for Children
Names of cheeses inspired by Star Wars Characters


Don't become a statistic.

2004-10-21 / 10:04 p.m.

So it�s apparently �recognize disabilities week.� Does posing the rhetorical question, �Are you retarded or something?� to a friend count?

That was bad. But then again, if I were really sorry, I wouldn�t post it.

Oh, and I totally made statistics my bitch. Thanks to rigorous study, good luck on the bonus, and my INCREDIBLE INTELLECT, I earned a 100%, furthermore, the class average was a B. If you happen to be in this class with me, please excuse my gloating. As a hopeless idiot when it comes to math (among other things), I can�t help but feel the underdog, and therefore super enthused about not sucking for once.






One size fits most

2004-10-21 / 1:56 p.m.

I hate watching myself on film�..
You know what I hate more?
Having to watch myself wearing something form fitting and trying to do ballet on film.

Today was the end of watching the taped evaluations in ballet. Sweet crap, it blew. I looked pitiously uncoordinated and very dumpy.::shudder:: Anyone up for a run to Sears? I�ve got to buy a wardrobe of muumuus.. Taped evaluations are such a buzzkill in ballet...I'd rather just rather play ballerina and pretend that I'm graceful and delicate and all.

So I did dentist of doom yesterday. The actual visit wasn�t as bad as I expected it to be. The only point of real pain was when they started drilling, and I really wasn�t numb enough. I told them that I had a history of needing more than one shot, but they didn�t initially believe me. Ha! I guess I showed them! My mouth was pretty achey from the shots after the numbness wore off, now it feels like someone punched me in the mouth. I took my last two ibuprofen before my run this morning�.time to go buy more. Actually, it was time to buy more about 4-6 hours ago. It hurts to open my mouth too wide, or do anything where the blood rushes to my face, like sneeze or bend over. Oh well, looks like no singing opera, giving oral sex, or headstands for me. At least I got it taken care of though. Now my only worry is the tooth in the front with the severely receding gum.

Band of the hour: Guster

The workers too the boards off my windows, then put them back on. again. No wonder I can�t trust anyone anymore. Between loud work, and just talking and laughing, the workers are making a bunch of noise today. It�s getting on my nerves. I think it�s only a matter of time before I go to the writing center to work on my 282 paper.

My nonfiction final revisions received good grades, and this week�s essay was really well received by the class. I was happy about that, until the pessimist inside reminded me that I�ll probably never apply these skills again, so it doesn�t matter that I have them.

This weekend, Roger is celebrating his birthday in Atlanta. I think a group of us is going to see �I Heart Huckabees��I hope it doesn�t suck. I still really really want to see �Shaun of the Dead�, and to a slightly lesser degree: �Team America World Police.� I should really just go on my own before they disappear.

Hey, computer question: you know those program shortcuts on the taskbar right next to the start button? the quick launch toolbar? The other day, I realized I didn�t use them, and became annoyed at their existence. I deleted them all, and then realized that I actually do use the internet explorer shortcut there a lot. Despite plenty of tinkering and reading the help menus, I can�t figure out how to put the shortcuts back. Help me.







All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .