. .


out of inman

2005-05-15 / 8:05 p.m.

Now that I have a second to take a breath or two, I can sit down for what will most likely be my last entry written from TheCollege. It�s weird, folks. It�s very, very, weird. This evening, I got dinner at the Farmer�s Market and ate it on the porch swing while watching the last bits of sunshine rip through the rain clouds. I�m going to miss living on this campus, it�s so ridiculously beautiful. Where else is like this? Trees and squirrels aside, there are other things I�ll miss (and several that I won�t), but they aren�t worth enumerating here.

I can�t believe I�m done with college. I feel older than I want to be and anxious about this whole rest-of-my-life thing, but it�s mostly balanced out by my feeling very pleased on the whole with the last four years. I�ve got some regrets, but nothing I haven�t learned something from. I think there�s probably something wrong with saying you�ve got �no regrets� with any major section of your life. If you don�t have any regrets, you�re probably either lying to yourself, or not paying attention.

Commencement was great. The address by Senator Clinton was awesome. Engaging, well delivered, and meaningful. Marsha Norman�s charge to our class was lighthearted and enjoyable as well. Surprisingly enough, I genuinely enjoyed seeing my relatives�with the exception of my uncle from Chattanooga, who was kind of a butt the whole day. Mom told me today that he had been even more of a butt when I wasn�t around, which pisses me off. I think that under other circumstances, I would have taken issue with some of the horrible things that came out of his mouth over the course of the day. I don�t think that I�ll be able to bite my tongue next time I�m with him, nor do I want to. Anyway, Mom did a good job entertaining�yummy food, ample beer, proper seating for almost everyone in the house, no knife fights, no fires, and no problem feeding everyone. Roger stuck with me the whole day, I got to see Hillary, and we made a cameo at Michelle�s party. Everything was great, but at the end of the day, I was stupidly tired.

In non-graduation news, I�m kind of looking forward to Revenge of the Sith. This article from the Times makes the movie look promising. The reviewer enjoyed the movie, despite admitting that the acting and writing is still about as crappy as you�d expect based on the previous two in the franchise.

Okay, I should go, tomorrow I�m moving in to my first new apartment and I�m still trying to find logical ways to pack everything. I also realized that when I separated out a change of clothes for tomorrow before packing the rest up, I managed to forget to reserve a pair of moving-day underpants, so I�m off to track down the box with my unmentionables in it.

What a way to end the last entry in my college career. Next stop, more college!








All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .