. .


more spam!

2005-06-10 / 10:25 a.m.

I�ve decided that my journal is ridiculously boring and pointless to read. I feel like a flake, because I end up just rambling on about nothing, rarely saying anything even remotely humorous or insightful these days. Logical reasoning would suggest that I just stop posting, but I don�t really want to do that. After all, I�ve always enjoyed keeping up a page and it makes me happy when I�ve got something to write. The only option seems to be to find something interesting to post here. I�m in a rut that I�ve got to dig my way out of. Suggestions are welcome. No, rather, suggestions are mandatory. So it shall be, now and forever. Do it, punks.






roger fixed the fuse. hey roger.

2005-06-08 / 1:15 p.m.

For the second time this week, I�ve found myself jonesin� to write an update, only to find I have nothing to say. Life has been fairly uneventful lately�not in a bad way�just a way that doesn�t loan itself to update writing. Quite frankly, I�m happier than I�ve been in a long time. This summer is relaxing like summers should be. My job is low-stress and I�m getting by financially; if I end up opting for a small education maximizer loan, I think I�ll be quite comfortable. The scarcity of friends is a little dull, but I�m working on that. Also, I�d be lying if I said I didn�t love living in close proximity to Roger�but I won�t ooze about it, I�m not �that girl.� I�ve had time to pursue long-neglected hobbies, like reading, writing, and watching daytime television. Really, things are going quite well.

Today is my day off. Other thank picking up my paycheck (which was small, but not as miniscule as I had feared it would be), I went exploring for nice grocery places. Normally, Kroger and Publix suit my needs perfectly, but the produce selection has left something to be desired. Besides, after four years of being indulged by the Farmer�s Market and occasionally Whole Foods, I like to have a place to go when I want to splurge a little on groceries. I went to a gourmet place I say advertised on television that was small, but nice. I was particularly intrigued with some of the fancy vinaigrette dressings they had, and some imported cheese. But alas, no produce. The guy there directed me to some place a lot like Whole Foods (with over-pricing to rival Whole Foods). It wasn�t any more impressive than whole foods, but again, would be nice for special occasion cooking or something.

and speaking of cooking, having my own kitchen is just as marvelous as I imagined it would be. I really enjoy cooking for Roger and myself�I wish I had more money, because I�d do it all the time. As things are, I find myself being stingy with foodstuffs from time to time, and I absolutely hate it. It�s a sad day when a girl can�t freely share her sandwich condiments with the man she loves.

Well, on with my adventurous life. I�m off to play smash brothers, go to the pool for a bit, and perhaps top off the afternoon reading in a bubble bath. Oh! And I�ve got pictures!! I would upload them, but my camera cord is MIA. Expect them soon. Also hope that I find some journaling inspiration soon, because this page has doubled its speed down the path toward mind-numbingly-dull-town.






you've got a face for telemarketing

2005-06-03 / 12:23 p.m.

shopping for groceries, cleaning supples, stuff for Lucy, and general stuff for my apartment has made me so good at The Price is Right. In other news, "Pat Croche, moving in" is about the most annoying thing since Dr. Phil. If I don't get my schedule changed, and escape from this late morning network television trap, I'm surely doomed. Must. obtain. library. card.






She's ba-aack.

2005-05-29 / 1:28 p.m.

I spent the last three or four days pretty much disconnected from the world. My voice was pretty much shot (and is only just starting to get a little better) so telephone correspondence was more or less a ridiculous proposition. Furthermore, my cable/internet has been out, further disconnecting me from the rest of the world. Everything�s lookin� up now, as I�m once again connected to the rest of the planet, and fairly vocally capable.

The job isn�t bad at all. I�m not doing anything remotely sleazy�just taking credit card applications and balance transfers for a well known and reputable banking institution. As long as the call traffic is fairly heavy, my shift passes quickly enough�Saturday was slow and therefore painfully boring. There were also no entertaining calls to spice things up, like Thursday�s fellow who wanted to know how many dollars he�d have to spend to get the points accumulated to go to South Korea, or Friday�s call from Mrs. Weiner. Heh. I said weiner.

Dear assemble-it-yourself-furniture company: Please make illustrations that make a little more fucking sense. Please note that a rectangle with some dots on it gives no indication as to which edge should be facing up, and that when affixing board B to cross support W, it is not immediately obvious which side will be showing in the finished product. kthxbye.

okay, showertime. Just wanted to let you know that I�m back, and that my life here is already rife with things to make fun of. Chau for now, tune in again soon. Trust me.






mute city

2005-05-22 / 10:31 p.m.

I�ve been sick the last few days. As usual, whatever it is seems to be running its course quickly, leaving me really genuinely feeling sick only for a day or so. This wouldn�t be a noteworthy occurrence except that I have, once again, lost my voice. This time though, there�s added humor value. Not only is laryngitis ironic because I talk so fucking much, this time, it�s threatening my brand new job. For those of you with sub-par short-term memory, let me remind you that I�ll be working in inbound-call telemarketing. Answering a telephone is my job. Last time I checked, telephone communication didn�t go well with pantomiming and mouthing words. I start training tomorrow. Crap. The game since Saturday evening has been no talking. It�s been a pain in the ass, though it�s fortunate that I don�t have any obligations to anyone here at the moment.

Ha! I almost named this entry, "oh, the ironing!" until I realized that I named the last entry about losing my voice with that very phrase.

Also, I keep seeing This monstrosity of a �quiz�, �how liberal / conservative are you?� on various people�s blogs. Because I�m mute and lonely, I took it upon myself to look at the quiz, and it�s about the stupidest thing I�ve seen this week�that�s saying a lot if you keep in mind where I�m living now. Ha. Kidding, anyway. All of the questions are stupidly black and white, and it doesn�t even do well representing liberal and conservative in even these simplest of terms. Minus 12 respect points for you if you�ve taken it.

In closing, I went to play ultimate frisbee with Roger and his friends last night. I was frustratingly useless as a team member, but it was nice to run around, and fantastic to meet some people. Roger�s friends are incredibly nice, and appear to be completely genuine about it from all angles. I will consider myself lucky to be invited back. Added bonus: I was not hit in the teeth with a frisbee. If autocorrect capitalizes �Frisbee� one more time�.fuck. It just did, and I didn�t even think of a threat I could carry out to a computer. Crap.

Okay. Goodnight. First day of work tomorrow.






Weeeee arrrreeee hheeeerrreeeeee

2005-05-21 / 9:48 a.m.

Good morning from Athens. I�m alive and now enjoying connectivity to the rest of the world. After a burst of unpacking and cleaning enthusiasm the second night here, my apartment reached a comfortable state by Wednesday, and is both totally sweet and totally awesome. All that remains is a computer desk�due to some confusion, laziness on the part of mom, and diminishing inability to loot JCP�s, I�m coming to you live from my bedroom floor. It�s pretty lame, but everything else is nice, so whatever. I can wait a few days to get a desk. Living alone is superior to room mates and dorms, as I can now complete everyday household tasks in my underwear, singing along to whatever�s on the stereo. And complete everyday tasks I do! Those who know me are probably all like, �uck, I bet Emily�s apartment is filthygross.� Well, you�ll be eating your words when you see it here�and you�ll be eating them off the kitchen floor with no problem. My guess was corrct�the fact that it�s all my mess, and that I have the facilities to clean it up, has made me pretty diligent about keeping things tidy. My tidying skills were out in such force on the evening I moved in, that it both scared and annoyed Roger. Granted, that was a little obsessive�but the point is still that I�m not a big filthy slob, so screw you guys.

My days have been mostly full of hanging out with Roger and his friends, because I don�t really know anyone else. It�s been nice. Roger�s friends are cool, and I�ve gotten somewhat better at Smash Bros. with lazy afternoons of playing it against a real human. Oh yeah, and because I really like Roger�did I mention that?

I got a job. They will only give me PT, and only scheduled me 25 hours a week�though it seems that it will be fairly easy to pick up swapped shifts to fill out another 5. Despite my initial trepidation, yesterday�s orientation there made me think that it�s probably not going to be much crappier than your average crappy job. They�re beasts about missing work though�if you call in, they usually require you to fill a makeup shift during the worst possible hours available. Playing with the computer system yesterday, I read a memo from the scheduling manager for my program saying that missed shifts would be made up between 10:00 pm and 7:00 am. Oh, ouch. I might do a night shift once, just to see how shitty it is. Other than that, I think I�ll survive as well as any other craptastic part timer. Roger has a full time job doing manual labor; he�ll be moving stuff out of the way for guys to put down flooring. I think that would be fun, for about 2 weeks. Then I�d be full of aches and pains and woe. Even though they still need people, I doubt they�d hire me anyway, being a girl and all. I�d sure as hell make more money�he and I are getting paid the same I believe, but he�s working 10 hours more weekly. Mom gave me an interest-free $1,000 loan (and lord, she will not stop reminding me that it is a LOAN) to pay my first month�s bills, rather than helping me apply for the bank loan. After that, I�m on my own. I may end up getting a small education maximizer loan to cushion the rest of the summer, I don�t know. I�ve been pretty thrifty so far, but we�ll see what the electric/cable/DSL bills are like.

Saw Star Wars. It was awesome. I was so impressed with it after the previous two. Granted, if I ran the world, I�d improve the love scenes and cut out all the cheesy asides�but I wouldn�t mess with a whole lot more. Okay�this is exceeding the length of the average reader�s attention span for my journal. I�ll cut out now, and write again soon. Soon, you shall have tales of obtaining a desk, working at a telemarketing firm, and Lucy�s upcoming rescue from CasaCat. exciting. Don�t laugh.








All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .