. .


Marriage and the Holidays

2002-11-18 / 9:09 p.m.

Getting married at 22--I can't imagine it, but lately, I've heard enough about it. There are two girls in my biology class who are each getting married shortly after being graduated (about a week after). And, I'm not kidding, they talk about it constantly. Maybe their lives weren't that interesting to begin with...but they certainly can't be now, because they're dominated by making plans for upcomming weddings. I can't help but listen to them...and I can barely keep from gasping in disbelief at some of the sums they toss out there. ie: "I wanted to keep the bridesmaid's dresses under $275, but if they want that dress, I'm not going to make them buy a cheaper one" Ay de mi! More than a year has passed since the last time I wrote about how alien the idea of marriage seemed to me, and I don't feel any closer to ready now than I did then. I can't even begin to imagine. I mean, don't get me wrong...Ideally, I really do want to get married someday--a lot. I think it would be wonderful...but not now! Three years seems like nothing, but in three years, I'll be older than the afore mentioned ladies in my biology class. I suppose I'm a little romantically immature anyway; and besides, in the immortal words of the great Conrad Birdie (ha ha) "I've got a lot of livin' to do"

I just got back from discussing the holiday break with Rachel...and sitting here now, I'm painfully aware of the fact that holidays are becomming less fun each year. Now before you go any farther, please know that I still really love this time of year in my heart--especially Christmas. It's still the one day of the year that, if done right, can knock a lot of cynicism and depression right out. I love so many things about Christmas...and I can say that I'll probably make one hell of a feel-good entry out of them one we're closer toward it...But still...it I remember not so long ago when the Thanksgiving-Christmas-New Years block was the greatest time of the year, but now, sometimes it feels like I have to make an effort to keep from feeling sour. There are only a few reasons I feel this way....and sadly, most of them revolve around retail sales. I'm guessing everyone sees the rampant commercialization...I think that a majority of my readers have lived in an average American city or suburb, so I'm going to take this as a given. So yeah, that's depressing in and of itself. also, because I have a loved one who works in retail, I take note of how it really tends to suck during this particular season. Every year, it seems that stores get more and more soul-less, and employees (like said loved one) have to work longer hours and put up with more shit every Christmas. Michelle and I got into an argument about this very subject this morning. Blockbuster is open on Christmas day...yuck. I didn't really want to work over Christmas break...but the thought of working in a video store on Chrismas makes me sad :( I continue to maintain that stores shouldn't sacrifice employee morale so much as to make them work such extended hours, on Christmas day in particular. Michelle seemed to think that, if that's what a buisness needs to grow, than it should be done, even though its unfortunate. --no no, I am not trying to make Michelle the villian. Her point was valid, not delivered maliciously, and also very common. (and Michi, if I misrepresented you, I'm sorry. I'd ask your opinion again, but you're asleep)...I think I'm just more sensitive to the topic that most. I suppose I'm just not being realistic, and I know I don't know jack crap about economics... but I would like to believe that forgoing a small small profit gain during the holiday season by opening longer hours would be worth not making the lives of your employees so crappy.

But I won't bore you with that, as I'm sure many of you probably disagree with me--hey! and if you do, make sure to post to my forum :) Goodnight, all. Sweet dreams.




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .