. .


Turducken

2002-11-21 / 5:08 p.m.

It's called Turducken and it's frightening. Today, before real discussion in political science started, I learned all about this zany phenomenon, which is--get this--a chicken stuffed inside a duck which is in turn stuffed inside a turkey...then the whole "turducken" is cooked. This seems to be a gross amount of meat, and it leaves me wondering how it would turn out...because, in my experience, turkey tends to be too dry, and duck too greasy...would they form a harmonious union or clash like bitter enemies?

So here we are, kids. My hopes are officially "up" and I'll be incredibly depressed if the fencing club doesn't work out. First of all, I'll be crushed if I don't get to do it anymore...especially after class today. I just have such a good time learning to fence, and it makes me feel like I'm not a complete, unathletic, fat, klutz...I'm actually not terrible for a beginner, and I'd really like to be good. I like learning it...as I've said before, I'm still in love with the fact that I've found a sport that I don't hate. I miss being able to compete in something...granted, all I could compete in high school was band, but I miss the feeling of competetion, and the feelings of recognition and appreciation that come with success. Plus, I've lost weight since starting. :) Aside from my own personal (and very deep) desire to keep up with the sport, as the unofficial captain of the effort to be recognized as a club, I've invested a lot of time and effort working on this. If we don't get recognized, it's going to be a personal defeat, and I'm going to be responsible for the failure. So, on a more upbeat note, let's just be optomists, because the other side is glum right now.

M left eye hurts really badly. It makes me think of Brian, and I laugh.

Today in political science (in addition to "Turducken") we talked about grad school. At this point, I really don't know whether I want to grad school or try to get a job...or maybe get a job for a couple of years and go back to grad school. There are big pros and cons for each, and I honestly do not know what I want. Fortunately, I just filling out a "change advisor" form, so I will soon have a real live political science advisor, rather than the over-extended director of international education...and gawd, speaking of internation education, I still have no idea what I'm doing next year.

See, I don't want to stay on campus all year...there are so many good opportunities! Most of my friends here are going someplace for a full year, but I definately only want to take a semester...I'll need the in class time to pick up a minor (of which I still havn't decided on). The problem lies in deciding between an experiental learning program, and going abroad. I see experiental learning being much more practical, and going abroad as much much more fun. That isn't even all! I still have to decide WHERE and WHAT to do, no matter which I pick. Anyway...I'll leave you to chew on that... :) Have a good day!




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .