. .


Seemingly unrelated factors.

2003-02-05 / 1:22 p.m.

Today in Sociology, we started using our new data analysis computer program. In class, we were looking at suicide rates by geographical region, and speculating on possible reasons for higher rates in certain regions of the United States. While some members of the class asserted their opinions (One girl had the gall to say that a whole region of the US "doesn't have much to offer" --how impartial) I couldn't resist the pull to explore the other statistics the program had to offer. Maybe it was the fact that it was early, and I hadn't had much sleep, but I was highly ammused with this program. I noted correlations between the perecent of baptists in an area and Playboy Magazine subscription (FYI: these factors seem inversely related), and learned fun facts like Georgia ranks #8 in number of reported cases of Syphilis in the United States. It has world statistics on it as well, though I havn't played with them very much as of yet.

Also related to sociology, I've got a really open-ended assignment to do basic research and write a paper on a sociological topic of interest to me. I'm trying to think of something really interesting, because there's just a wide variety of things I could pick. Any suggestions are welcome in the forum.

I had my appointment to further discuss Study abroad plans with a spanish faculty advisor this morning. It was a suprisingly positive meeting which has renewed my zeal about going to Buenos Aires. I was also put in contact with a student who just returned from the program last semester, and apparently had a really great experience, so that kind of reassured me. So I'm still nervous for many reasons, but I think it's moved on to a more sane nervousness that isn't really stressing me out to the point it was earlier in the week.

That's about it for now. I'm just here at work putting off starting on more homework. Adios.




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .