. .


The morning after

2003-02-15 / 1:22 p.m.

There is an oddly large number of men around my dorm today, undoubtedly relaxing and recovering after last night's Valentine's festivities. I was up really late last night, and was surprised to see couples still coming and going as late as 3:30 or 4:00. Valentine's Day, while it means little to nothing for me, it still interesting to see here. Yesterday, like any Friday, I was drinking my coffee, reading my mail, and looking over cases for my "rights" class at a little table outside the post office. So anyway...I was watching other people get their mail, and some of the valentine's presents that people were opening up around me were just something else. Someone's boyfriend (or girlfriend) had sent her an entire ensemble of revealing lingerie, complete with shoes...another girl was picking up a bouquet so huge, I doubt she could have seen around it. Heh, in a way, Valentine's Day with some couples kind of reminds me of the people that only go to church on Christmas. Couples cramming in all the affection they can on one day, overcompensating for any romantic shortcomings that they've had through the course of their relationship. I'm sure it's a great time of the year to be a florist or a chocolatier...or for that matter, a weight-loss counselor with the all the candy that seems to be omnipresent over Valentine's week.

That's about it. I've got to go work on this stupid sociology paper, clean up the room, and continue doing my laundry if I can round up any more quarters. Laundry is so expensive. Despite the high price of gasoline and the environmental impact of driving my POS car (when it still ran) home...it's still way more economical to just take my laundry home and wash it all there. Okay. I'm going to scout out, and claim some washing machines. adeus.




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .