. .


hi, atus!

2003-05-22 / 2:08 p.m.

I'm taking a short hiatus because I had to unhook the computer to paint. I should be up and running again by Saturday.



Em


Fast Food Nation

2003-05-21 / 12:09 a.m.

I've gotten started on my Summer reading, and I'm enjoying it. That's a perk of being a lazy unemployed child: reading for leisure. I'm in the thick of Fast Food Nation right now, and I'm enjoying it. It's one of those that you know is written with the purpose of firing you up in mind...and you're still enjoying it :) I'm on Schlosser's wavelength....he's taking lots of the soapboxes that I love hopping up on, and doing a beautiful job with them. Seriously...I don't know how I havn't read this already!


"one in seven of the sexually experienced 14-year-old girls has been pregnant"

2003-05-21 / 12:04 a.m.

Will sent me a link to this NYT article. Are we suprised or not? Forum. now.


Orange you glad I didn't paint the walls orange?

2003-05-20 / 11:51 p.m.

Tomorrow, my walls will be yellow-orange. I returned the original orange orange paint I bought....I LOVED the color, it seemed a little overwhelming when I put a big spot on the wall :( --so much for being so bold, though the color I have decided on now is only slightly more mellow ;). I've decided to decorate around a print of Paysage aux Papillons I bought. Once the paint is all up, I'm going to buy some more artish posters. My original plan was to do faux-antique travel posters, but I decided to go with just nice prints.


Imagine Coffee and Baklava at a Kafenion....

2003-05-20 / 11:15 p.m.

I'm a lazy updater when I'm operating with dial-up, so sue me. I went to work on updating at the library, but the internet was down :( I think I'll break the updates up a bit, so this isn't too overwhelming....

So life:

I'm still unemployed...I've picked up some apps, but no one is hiring! I'm kind of stewing now....Until I hear from the internship people (hopefully by friday), there's no fire under my ass to work any harder at finding a job. My interview for the new Starbucks was promising....but I've been hit by application-lie-guilt....As is often necessary when applying for summer jobs, I said I wasn't leaving at the end of the summer....but now I'm feeling bad about it. Call me fool, call me what you will, but if she calls back, I'm going to fess up and tell her I'm most probably going back to Decatur at the end of August.

Mom and I went to the Greek Festival last weekend, and it was exactly the oily, home-cooked, Greek I've been jonesing for. Cafe Lily (where we went on mother's day) was more region inspired than authentic...my fave Greek place is still Athens Pizza in decatur. But the fest: mmmmmmmmm, I loved it. Souvlaki, Spanakopita, dolmades, other wonderful things I can't spell.....soo good. And of course, Baklava for dessert. I also had Greek Coffee which I absolutely fell in love with. It's made in a way which makes it taste unexpectedly different....I won't bore with details, but if you're curious, here's a convenient site Eleni gourmet--how to make greek coffee. I took mine metrios, and it was tasty. So flavorful that I wanted less sugar in it, and didn't have the slightest urge for cream. With the coffee, and the Baklava, I was in heaven!!! Aside from the food, we toured the church, watched the little Greek children dance, shopped, and listened to good music.

With the exception of this delightful afternoon, I'm so incredibly tired of being around my mother all the time, I can't even voice it to you. She's on vacation this week...and with my faulty tires keeping me sequestered in Mayretta, we're in the house together a lot. Makes me feel like such a brat to say it, but I want to be back inside the perimeter for awhile :) heh. I think it's just the shock of a new environment. I'd be lying if I said I didn't enjoy the downtime without having to worry about school.


The Verdict is in

2003-05-15 / 11:58 p.m.

Accoding to Brian, Dr. V stole some fancy cheese, a half a chicken, and baby powder. Winner.

Speaking of Brian, he's leaving on Saturday. I will miss you terribly, Brian...Have fun in Brazil and Argentina!! Brian, Hillary, Bruce and I went out for Brian's farewell dinner at Los Reyes tonight, followed by ice cream at Brusters where we were joined by Michelle. We laughed at the many high schoolers who were loitering about, especially the aspiring A&F model who posed in his truck with a football for a quarter hour: pictures coming soon.


job interview

2003-05-15 / 11:58 p.m.

I went Wednesday afternoon and interviewed for a job working in the optical department at JC Penney...worst. interview. ever. My mother warned me that the lady was a bitch, I should have heeded her warning. Basically, she let me know that I wouldn't be getting the job, because she knew I wasn't going to stay on full time after the summer was over. Okay, that's forgiveable...but the interview itself was really stupid. First, I had to take a math test of all things...just basic addition and fractions to basically make sure I understood how to add up a price. Here's the kicker, the test says you must use a calculator for every problem. WTF? Then she sits around and tries to explain to me how hard and weighty and important the job is...blah blah blah....then she tells me how I'm not going to get the job.....blah blah blah.....then continues, even after letting me know that I don't have a snowball's chance, to tell me about apprecenticeship opportunities. ::snore::. I'm dissapointed, because it would have been a really good job. The-capital B-Boss likes me, and I think that if he were in town (he's away for a funeral), he'd use some leverage to get the lady to hire me. Anyway, she called me and left me a message while I was on my way home from the interview, saying that she thought I was "just perfect" for this other job: handing out optical coupons at the entrance of the store on Saturday. :( What about my resume makes me "perfect" for handing out coupons? :( Unfortunately, I'm not willing to take a job all the way over at Cumberland that I can only work once a week, she can suck it. She was just a generally annoying lady.

Doesn't change the fact that I still need to find a job....I went around to a couple of places--mostly stores around my house--and they all told me they'd keep my application "on file" and they're not hiring right now. It doesn't seem real to me that I should find a job....In the back of my mind, I'm still so hopeful and optimistic about these internships that I can't give up on them....not yet....Until they get back to me, I'm going to keep hoping

So what do the unemployed do all day? They clean up for their mothers. I'm undertaking a spring cleaning--centering in my room--to make the house not quite so gross. I assembled large shelves today to make room for my growing collection of books. It was uneventful.


finals

2003-05-15 / 11:58 p.m.

When all was said and done, my finals went pretty well. I had plenty of time to get them done too....I really wasn't rushed at all to finish Tuesday. Just as I had predicted, I was hit pretty hard by essay-apathy, and didn't want to read them much more by the time I was through....That's bothering me now. I just can't shake the feeling that I should have read over them just one or two more times. Still, there's no going back now, so whatever. I think I did pretty well though, I'm hoping to end the semester with at least a 3.5. I guess we'll see soon enough though.


Deep Breath

2003-05-15 / 11:57 p.m.

Oh. Wow. Yeah, so, uh, I'm home now...I moved out Wednesday morning, though it seems like it's been so much longer than the less than two days I've spent here. Contrary to what I might have imagined, I haven't just been sitting around vegging since I've been home. Perhaps I've just got to come down from the end-of-semester stress high slowly.....As soon as I got my stuff unloaded Wednesday afternoon, I grabbed lunch, interviewed for a job, went grocery shopping, came home, cleaned, cooked, went out with Brian, bought shelves, and started Fast Food Nation, and passed out dead asleep--I had only gotten in about 4 hours the night before, and after such a long day, I slept like a rock. This morning, I got up, went around to a few gyms and ended up getting a membership at Cosmo's, cooked, and cleaned yet again, and went out for Brian's farewell dinner. Gah! It's just so much work getting back setteled in when the house is in such dissaray anyway. My mother has been busy and stressed, and things have gotten quite sloppy here. I've been on a roll though, cleaning out drawers and closets and boxes and attics. Between her and I, we'll get the house "Spring Cleaned" in a couple days, and hopefully be left with an immaculate dwelling that even Michelle could be proud of. :)




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .