. .


Little Mary Sunshine

2003-07-24 / 10:05 p.m.

I'm moderately unhappy. Things could definately be going better. You know, I'm just going to vent for a minute. You don't have to read--afterall, it won't be interesting....but it's my journal and it's the next best thing to talking to real live humans....so vent I shall.

I already felt pretty shitty this morning, but to add insult to injury, I managed to develop a migrane just as I was arriving at work. Oh the irony of having a headache in a room full of shouting three year olds. Ugggg. Luckilly, I was able to take something and knock it out before it got bad enough to make me sick at work.

Someone else was sick though...he vomited on the floor. Oh how I love my job.

before my post-work shower, I stepped on the scale, and my jaw dropped in a truly cartoonesque way. Despite my firm resolve to lose weight; I have, in actuality, gained a _significant_ amount more. I shouldn't have been surprised, I mean its not like I haven't noticed...come on, all my jeans look like they've been painted on. Still, sometimes numbers on a scale are a bit shocking. When I look in the mirror, I'm so dissapointed in myself for failing so grandly to maintain the weight I lost this spring.

Got a study abroad budget planning worksheet from Butler today. Looks like Argentina will end up costing me more than I originally anticipated. ::groan:: Also included in the "preparing to study abroad" packet were yet more warnings on the social unacceptability of being overweight in Argentina.

I was informed that there are problems with my fall class schedule.

My mother has blamed me for every problem existing under the sun today.

My telephone number still appears to be disconnected, despite the phone company's reassurance that the problem would be fixed.

Heh. Who am I kidding? This venting thing isn't working at all. I still feel shitty. very unsuccessful, very unattractive, and just generally bad. My apologies to anyone who called or IMed me tonight. Clearly, I'm not the best to chat with this evening. I'm just going to give up and go to bed-- I'm not really sleepy, just tired of being awake.


Revelation

2003-07-24 / 1:53 p.m.

My mother is driving me insane and making living at home suck even more than it should. I sat down at the computer and muttered to myself "I can't wait to be back at school" for about the 1,000,000th time this summer...and then I realized something: I don't really want to be back at school either. I honestly think I'm only looking forward to going back because it isn't home--I'm not really so eager for school to start. ::sigh::


Woe.

2003-07-24 / 1:35 p.m.

I tried to make salsa this morning. It was a spectacular flop.


picture!

2003-07-23 / 2:59 p.m.

The author drinking coconut milk in Chinatown


I'll upload all the pictures once my connection doesn't suck.


props to Dora

2003-07-23 / 1:27 p.m.

He can even count to five in Spanish (Thank you Dora, you Exploring Bitch, you).
--Uncle Bob


New York Trip: Thursday

2003-07-22 / 10:46 a.m.

We left ass early on Thursday morning, but didn't end up getting on the early flight...still, even after being re-routed through D.C., we were still at our hotel in la ciudad around lunchtime.

After we checked in, we hit 5th avenue. Generally, I don't like shopping...especially not on vacation, but somehow, NYC is a different story. Between all the well known places, the giant department stores, and the wonder that is Chinatown, shopping is something I can enjoy. There's enough stuff to just look at to make just walking around interesting.

While my mother went to get lunch, I hit all the ritzy stores and tried to pretend like I had money. It was hard not to look like some bumpkin oogling at prices, because some stuff was so expensive, I couldn't believe it. You'd have to have more money than brains to buy some of the shoes I looked at in Prada. Cartier was also really neat--I was distracted by many shiny objects.

My mother and I met back up a little later, and went to Tiffany & Co. Generally, I would scoff at buying anything at Tiffany....fine though it is, I still think most things are overpriced. Butanyway, my mother got a $25 coin for her birthday many years ago, and wanted to spend it, so shop we did.

Mom has this story she loves to tell about her and my father going to Tiffany's and finding stuff on clearance--go figure. She always talks about how they had such a good time buying this ugly ceramic cat once. She was so amused about the care in packaging and the service in delivering such a cheap item. :) We didn't find anything on clearance, but she still wanted to get something. Silver jewelry was the most reasonable, and since she doesn't wear silver, it was my good fortune to get to pick something out--early birthday present. I got a very small, but elegant necklace which I really like.

Went to H&M after hearing much praise from Hillary, and it was everything I dreamed of and more. lol. It's only a matter of time before we get one of these in Atlanta. It was very reasonably priced, but the clothes weren't cheaply made. They had a good selection, and it was very nicely laid out. Cheap by 5th avenue standards, but very nice. The only downside was that the place was PACKED--they were having an excellent sale. Because of the high volume of people, I didn't get to look around as much as I wanted, but I left the store with two very cute dresses--one black silk with beautiful detailing around the hem that was marked down insanely cheap on Clearance, and a pink off the shoulder number. Very cute--now all I need is an excuse to dress up so I can wear them :(

Later in the evening, we went to L'Ecole: the restaurant I talked about earlier. It's run by the French Culinary institute there. That was the deal of the century. We had an excellent 5 course meal for half of what it would have cost at any other restaurant, and it was really excellent. I had never had a truly fussy gourmet meal before, and it was a very cool experience.

The whole evening was great except for being felt up and ::ahem:: pressed against in an inappropriate manner on a crowded subway train on the way there....that was icky. Still, I was proud of myself for elbowing him in the Solar Plexus with a surprising amount of force. Those are the big events of the day, the rest of the time I spent people watching and walking around--which is more fun than it might sound.


I'm baaaaack

2003-07-22 / 10:44 a.m.

Hello! I'm back! I'll put up pictures from my trip as soon as I have a good enough connection to upload them all (around August 21st, I'd guess...). Long story short: I had a good time. Would have been better if I had gone with a friend, but fun all the same. I spent way too much money, but c'est la vie.




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .