. .


Going to work.

2003-08-11 / 1:04 p.m.

Best news of the day: Linens and Things accepts competitor�s coupons (actually, this was news from the other day when Michelle told me...but I called them to make sure this morning). Huzzah. I can use my Bed, Bath and Beyond coupon to shop for comforters at the superior linens and things. My my, what an exciting life I lead.

I'll probably also go to Old Navy and buy another pair of these very cheap clearance jeans...They're not really very flattering, but they're comfortable as all get out. I know that when I get back to school my priorities in pants will be once again in order, and I will appreciate the slouchiness of these as opposed to the slightly heightened cuteness of some of my other pairs.

Worst news of the day: I'm working extra hours...which is pretty good, though it's in the evil classroom :(

I was watching The Price is Right this morning (yeah, yeah, I know...) and there was an automatic lemonade maker...Highlighted by Rod with the pitch "Just add lemon juice, sugar, and water" ummmm....yeah.

Best Cup O' Noodle product ever., as photographed by Hillary in Boston.


Someone has to pay, Lenny. Somebody always pays.

2003-08-09 / 8:02 p.m.

Last night Joe and I went to see Rob's band, Made in China. I was impressed, they were good. Added bonus: Rob put us on the guest list, so I was able to avoid paying a cover. Huzzah. The venue--Lenny's--was small and pretty loud, so I couldn't resist using earplugs for at least part of their set....therefore, my listening experience wasn't as good as it could have been. But I still liked it, and they were far and away better than either of the other two acts there. The lead singer of the band before them was just absurd.

Beforehand, Joe and I went to El Myr: a little mexican place in Little Five. It was delicious...definitely someplace I'd go back to. The food was cheap, but way way better than any other cheap mex ::coughcoughElAmigocough:: :) I would also say that their salsa was some of the best I've ever had in a restaurant. We sat on the deck, which was nice because it was a pleasant night. I would go back there just to sit and eat chips and salsa

Last night at the club where Made in China played, I had to have my hands X-ed with permanent marker because I'm such a young 'un....Last night (errr, this morning) before I went to bed, I was too lazy to wash it off. So, unfortunately, I woke up with copies of the black X's on various body parts which rested on my hands over the course of the evening. Cheek, forehead, throat, side of knee....the best part: I didn't realize this until I had already gotten up, gone to the store and the library. As much as I hate getting older, 21 is a much anticipated birthday.


Terrible twos

2003-08-08 / 1:26 p.m.

YAY!!! We turn two today!!!


My Big Fat Asian Wedding.

2003-08-08 / 12:19 p.m.

What's the deal?! After months of having bizarre, abstract, and completely uninteresting dreams, I've started having way more coherent dreams and remembering them which is strange.

Last night, I had this dream in which I was having an argument with my dad over all his old vinyls--for some reason, we were splitting them in half and I was leaving with my share. We were arguing on who got to take Hot Butter's "Popcorn", which is a highly annoying album of bad 70's synthesizer music. Back when I was a kid, my father used to put it on to annoy my mother...I think that might have been it's soul purpose in his collection, as it was highly out of character with everything else he owned...but anyway. I got tired of arguing and just left. The only thing I put in my car was an ironing board, which was weird, because I think I was planning on leaving long-term. There was more, but that's all I remember.

I had another dream about getting married to some asian guy...I don't think he exists in real life. We planned a huge wedding, but it wasn't until I was getting ready for the ceremony that I realized that all the guests were his friends and family, and that I hadn't told anyone I knew about getting hitched. I freaked out, because I hadn't told anyone, and I was having serious second thoughts about marrying him. I suddenly realized that I had only known him for a few weeks, and that I didn't really want to get married to him. So I told him and instead of a wedding, we just had a fancy party. I invited all my friends and family so they could meet him, and mingle with his relatives who were allvery very wealthy. During the party, I was explaining the situation to my mother, who was very upset that I didn't tell her about the wedding and that she hadn't ever met the guy. I introduced her to the mysterious asian groom, but he was very very drunk and made a poor impression. I was super embarassed and decided that I didn't want to marry him anymore. Right there on the spot, I sold my wedding dress and engagement ring to Hillary.


discomfort

2003-08-07 / 12:39 p.m.

As if I wasn't already sure that kids are all insane, yesterday took the fucking cake. There's this one...constant behavior problem. He's a smart ass who constantly lies (for the record, his mother is the one who said that "lying was a sign of highly intelligent children" when she was alerted to what a little fucker he was). But anyway, he wasn't paying any attention to the new teacher (poor woman), so I pulled him out of the group and made him stand with me. The kid's a little too touchy feely with everyone, so he was holding my hand. Fine, whatever. Kids freqently cling to me like sea parasites, so it wasn't a big deal. So he comments that my hand smells good, and starts sniffing my arm. Okay....getting weirder. Then he starts rubbing his face up and down my arm--yet weirder. _Then_ he calls other children over to smell me. Before I knew it, there was a cadre of about 12 kids smelling me. Yuck. Thinking of the germs I probably carried home is disgusting. A day care is not the place for a hypochondriac like me.


pleasant surprise

2003-08-07 / 12:36 p.m.

I saw "Super Troopers", and I did not hate it; in fact, I found it to be quite ammusing. Who would have thought? I'm hoping to understand at least 50% more of what Joe, Beckham, and Bill say since seeing S.T. and "The Big Lebowski".


Shopping!

2003-08-07 / 12:04 p.m.

Read a rumor that they might open up an H&M in Atlantic Station--That weird self-contained community thing that's being built downtown.


Schwarzenegger versus Coleman

2003-08-07 / 11:41 a.m.

from CNN.com

The California gubernatorial race is sheer insanity.


Home is where the computer is.

2003-08-05 / 2:42 p.m.

Despite my incessant bitching, this summer has actually passed fairly swiftly. My bill for the semester is on the coffee table, I�ve turned in my 2 weeks for the summer job, and I�m beginning to think about the logistics of moving back into school (the Sunfire is considerably smaller than the Volvo). Fall is coming....

Things I need to do before school starts :
*Go swimming at least once more
*Read a couple more books
*Do my summer work for WC (uuuugggggg).
*But a new comforter

Things I�ll miss about being home :
*My own bedroom and bathroom
*Close proximity to Joe�s apartment
*Having a gym with television (I�ll really really miss this ::sob::)
*Having a complete kitchen
*Yellow-orange walls.


Your lime.

2003-08-05 / 1:24 p.m.

When it rains, it pours....Within the past week, I've run into a TON of people that I knew in elementary and middle school. Somehow, I haven't really had the occasion to see many people from my high school, but kids from elementary school are coming out of the woodwork--Three of them are employed at the daycare where I work. This morning, at the libray, I ran into a guy I knew it 4th grade...and he's really really hot now. Back then he wasn't...he was a dweeb. We were both in chorus, and sang a duet together.....dressed as Thanksgiving turkeys. :(


Consumorgasm

2003-08-04 / 2:18 p.m.

Heh. I was insanely stir crazy this afternoon, and opted to brave the east cobb traffic and go to the mall. I needed to buy some new makeup, and Clinique at Parisian had decent give aways this week, so I went ahead and bit the bullet. I was also pleased to find moderately cute jeans on clearance at Express....this surprised me, as I generally view this store as pure evil. Went sifting through the red-line stuff at Lerner looking for more of those cute drawstring khakis (I did not find any), and shopped around, making a mental wishlist there for fall clothes. I ended up buying a couple of tops marked down which pleased me. Stopped in Gap for a bit, tried on several pairs of jeans--none of which fit. Gap has the strangest fitting jeans ever. Jeans that were too big for my hips....which I can tell you is very rare. Just to round out the day of clearance picking, I stopped at Old Navy since I was nearby anyway, and got some really comfortable jeans--they're a little sloppy looking, but very loose fitting and good. I'm in rare form today....shopping and not hating it, but unfortunately, I had to come home and get ready for work....alas.


Cumplea~os Feliz.

2003-08-03 / 1:43 a.m.

On Friday, my journal turns 2 years old. On my last, not-very-precise count, this is entry #397. I'm still pleased about the decision to move to Diaryland....other than being less trouble; there aren't any pop-ups, which is superior to Tripod. Just like last year, I would like to write some interesting, insightful entry to commemorate 2 years, but we all know that probably won't happen. Thumbed through a lot of my archived entries tonight though, this amused me for a few minutes. What have I learned in the last two years? Lots of things! Spanish movies are sad. New York is fun. Work sucks, but often provides interesting anecdotes. I always make better grades than I expect to. I study a lot. Things change. Things stay the same. There are many strange men at Georgia Tech (who remembers Ankur? That other weirdo guy I met online? The guy from 118 that EK tried to set me up with?). But I think that far and away the most pervasive theme of my journal is that I�m fucking crazy. Heh. Goodnight.




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .