. .


taking a break

2003-09-17 / 4:29 p.m.

I just worked for a good 3/4 hour on pre-writing for an essay, only to crumple up everything I had done and start over with a new thesis. Maybe it was a stupid decision, but it's worked out well so far. I wish it were as easy to scrap stupid mistakes in real life as it is to scrap stupid theses. Thesissss. theeeseees. Thesis. Thesisees. theses. feces. ha.

okay, break over.


Internet woes

2003-09-16 / 5:20 p.m.

I wrote ITS today, asking why my connection (and other people's) is so unstable when the labs seem perfectly fine, and also when they'd get around to fixing the problem. So, for all of you sick of trying to talk to me on AIM, I'll tell you what they say as soon as I get a response.


yeah?

2003-09-16 / 3:15 p.m.

what a shitty day this has been. that's all...just wanted to complain. Good reading, huh?


Halloween

2003-09-15 / 5:47 p.m.

Joe asked in passing on Saturday what I was going to dress up as for Halloween. I haven�t dressed up since H's 17th (which was fun, though my costume was uninspired and looked TERRIBLE on me). Any suggestions for this year, in the event that I do end up going someplace where a Halloween costume would be appropriate? I just thought it would be a fun question to present...


And now, the big news

2003-09-15 / 5:22 p.m.

Hahaha, here I am posting numerous entries about nothing at all, and ignoring the HUGE thing that happened to me today.

So Julia comes up to me at lunch, and tells me that she's moving home and withdrawing. today. because she's pregnant. (then imagine my jaw drop between bites). As of one hour ago, and until I'm told otherwise, I now have this room to myself

I almost wish I'd be here all year...but since I'm only here for the semester, it barely seems worth changing anything. I suppose I'll bring some extra bedding from home and convert the other bed into some form of seating, but that's about it. Minimal effort.


More more more!!! kill time!!!!

2003-09-15 / 5:16 p.m.

Today in line waiting to get lunch, I saw a woman with the best. watch. ever. Instead of numbers, it had traditional dim sum dishes on it!!! The hands were little chopsticks!!! She was talking to the woman ahead of her about it, and I couldn't help but ask about it myself. She apparently got it as a gift from a friend, who bought it at some boutique that they only have in NY and London. Alas. I googled this a little, and though I didn't find the watch, I did find a dim sum clock, which is too adorable to exist in real life.


Smell Flashback

2003-09-15 / 5:14 p.m.

Today, I'm wearing an old favorite scent of lotion...Limelight from Bath and Body works. Remember that store before it was incredibly expensive and snooty? Heh. I smell like 8th grade. I keep having random memories of the time pop up in my head. It's strange, but quite amusing.


Dream

2003-09-15 / 9:08 a.m.

I had a dream last night that I was on a train to Brazil...I don't think I had a ticket, so I kind of snuck on the train, and I was riding in a cargo car. I met Brian on a stop before the train got there, and he rode the rest of the way there with me. The place we went bore no real resemblance to any Brazil I'd ever seen, but apparently it was. I expressed concern to Brian because I had left my purse at home and didn't really have any form of identification or any money. He didn't seem concerned. We went to this large establishment that looked like a fast food restaurant. You handed the man behind the counter $28 American dollars, and he could get you ID. I gave him the money, and he somehow produced my purse. Afterwards, Brian and I went to a suburb where all the houses were built quite plainly, but the outsides of them had murals painted on them. All of the murals on all of the houses depicted the same motif, but they were painted stylistically differently. The only stuff I remember from the murals in the dream was a bear breaking the surface of some water, and a man falling from someplace really high.


Weekend Recap

2003-09-14 / 10:33 p.m.

And so she prepares for another week of work, school, and looking forward to the coming weekend...but first, a journal entry

So Friday was Abre los Ojos night. Joe, EK, and I went to Little Szechwan which was delightful, though not as tasty as it sometimes is. I went against my instincts and got a chicken dish, which was good, but I missed the shrimp there, it's so fucking good...though I guess neither of my dining companions are big shrimp fans (because they suck), so chicken is more widely agreeable. Anyway, it was awesome to go back, I hadn't been since Hillary's birthday. Afterwards, we went back to casa HVB/EK and hung out for awhile. Beckham and Joe went to the Highlander to see a friend of theirs in town for the weekend, and when they returned, we all watched Abre. It was very good, I enjoyed it. The start was a little slow, but after the first half or so, it was a bit more interesting to watch. I guess it was a really long movie anyway. It makes me want to see Vanilla Sky, though I'm told that they're very very similar. Movie ended, and Hillary and Bruce joined us in existing in the living room. We called both Mike B. and Michelle to ask them about The Date, and reports were positive--Huzzah! Joe and I ended up hanging out there quite late into the evening, just talking and being stupid with Hillary and Bruce. It was terrific--just one of those nights where everything was just good and fun and relaxed. Oh! and I finally met Kittybaby! So dumb, yet so nice. I give him the seal of cat approval. I hope he becomes a permanent resident.

After going home, I was still wired from all the laughing and caffeine and sugar of the evening, so I didn't get to bed until late. Thankfully, I still woke up bright eyed and bushy-tailed for Dim Sum the next day. :) :)

Dim sum Saturday was AWESOME as usual. We have generally gone on Sundays, so I was surprised to see how much less crowded it was on Saturday morning....but we sacrificed a little variety for it though. I think it�s worth going on Sunday despite the crowds if possible...but all was still well. Highlights (besides the sparkling conversation) included the stickyrice in the palm leaf with the various meats, fried shrimp balls with peanut sauce, red bean balls, BBQ bao, two kinds of super-rich pork dumplings, and the various seafood dumplings which always serve as the dim sum staples. Post dim sum, I was feeling way full and gross, and decided to go out and walk around in little five. Hillary and I had mused over doing crazy things to my hair, so I thought I�d do a little field research... :) The people watching was great, and I felt somewhat less disgusting after an hour of strolling around. In the afternoon, I spent some time with the boy and Beckham, but I was getting kind of sluggish by the later part of the afternoon....Not only did I get home pretty late Friday night, but my internal clock is fucking messed up, making it difficult for me to sleep in. I find that sometimes I wake up on my own accord before 8:00, and can�t really get back to sleep. :( This was the case Saturday. I got a little quick dinner at KRGR and went and loafed around my room for awhile, and then things took a sinister turn....it must have been something from dinner, because I started feeling super-icky for several hours. I had planned to go hand out with Michelle and Suzanne, but by the time Michelle called, I was desolately nauseous. Thankfully, it didn�t last too long, and I was feeling fine by the time I fell asleep.

Sunday was generally uneventful, but not bad....I got up, did some homework, and drove to the mall to continue my quest for jeans that fit. I failed yet again. Spent yet more time at Casa Joe where I relaxed instead of doing homework. I regret nothing, and if given the chance, I�d slack again! This was a weekend full of just enjoying the company of friends...though I regret missing Suzanne on Saturday night.




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .