. .


neato

2003-10-04 / 1:33 p.m.

I bet that this is probably so fucking cool...


Small victories

2003-10-03 / 6:10 p.m.

huzzah. The essay portion of my philosophy test was good enough that the professor asked if she could post it on blackboard as an "example of an A response" yay.


Goodbye, dark feline

2003-10-03 / 6:08 p.m.

I'm glad this is the last day of Bl@ck Cat. There are way too many parties with way too much bad food around. This has been a bad week in my quest to lose weight, and I imagine that I succeeded in doing just the opposite of what I was going for....sigh.


Puff

2003-10-03 / 2:22 p.m.

The habitat for humanity charity dress sale is today. I came out of the student center and watched a girl buy one of my old dresses (for those keeping score at home, it was the Spring 2000 GwynethPaltrowEsque pink one). It was weird...I'm going to miss my collection of puff. ::sniff sniff::


Interdiction.

2003-10-03 / 8:38 a.m.

I'm trying to narrow down a topic for my 421 final paper. Initially, it was going to be about Plan Colombia and the Andean Regional Initiative and their global implications, but I'm not sure anymore. It's going to have something to do with drugs, perhaps the so-called "war on drugs" and globalization, but I'm not exactly sure of my topic yet. So, if you have ANYTHING to offer on this topic, or if you see ANY interesting articles, e-mail them to me. I'll definitely appreciate it.

That�s about it. It�s been a parched week for the journal. It�s been a shitty week for the author. The weekend promises little excitement, but at least it�s the weekend. Tonight is junior production�.and while I initially wanted to go, I�m now feeling less enthused than before. I�ll probably leave early. Meh, I guess it depends on how I�m feeling tonight, and how funny it is, but last year it ran sooooo long that I honestly didn�t have the attention span to stay until the end. Perhaps the seniors have really discovered the key to enjoying this whole week of silliness in being drunk for most of the activities.


That's not FAIR!

2003-09-30 / 9:15 a.m.

Shitty realization of the day:

I have a final paper due for my incredibly-good-yet-highly-intimidating Middle Eastern History professor by 9:00 am on the 11th of December. It is worth 35% of my grade.

I have a final paper due for my Globalization class at 9:00 am on the 10th of December. It is worth 40% of my grade.

My 21st birthday is the 9th of December. :(

I have therefore come to the conclusion that my birthday will be *officially* moved to Friday, December 12th. Any celebration that may occur for #21 will be moved to this weekend. Studying for my Contemporary Moral Problems final and Spanish final will also have to take place this weekend, but that won't be nearly as time consuming, nor deadline oriented as these two devil-papers.

So there you have it, folks. I turn 21 three days later than I always thought. Done and done. I have changed my birthday--I have an incredible level of agency in my own life, don't I? :)


Good morning, starshine

2003-09-29 / 8:06 a.m.

I'm just finishing up my breakfast before I start studying, thought I'd add a quick entry....as if I didn't put enough crap up yesterday.

Holy ducks, kids. It's surprisingly cold outside! I checked the weather last night...so I was expecting it, but it was still weird this morning. I need another pair of swishypants now that it's too cold to jog/walk in cheerleading shorts. I have exactly one pair of pants I can wear for exercising, and they are in a sad, sad state. The drawstring in them is knotted so tightly I haven't been able to loosen the waistband in about a year. They're way too long and too big--they're XL, made to fit size 14-16. Both pocket zippers are stuck shut. There are a few small tears in them, and the mesh lining inside is separating from the seams. Yes...all this superfluous description boils down to the fact that it's time to scrap these and buy some new ones...anyone know a good place to look? I don't know much about athletic clothes...

God this is a boring entry. You know...I thought if I sat down and wrote an entry, it would help me mellow out in preparation for what will undoubtedly be a terribly stressful day--but I'm just getting frustrated with my lack of things to say, so I'll stop torturing you with things like the treatise on jogging pants above. :) Wish me luck on my first Spanish History test (uggg, history AND Spanish--terrific) and my 421 presentation. Ciao.


�Ella? Es mi hermana.

2003-09-28 / 1:27 p.m.

Friday I skipped out on Flute Choir and took off work to go down to the police station and get a background check. What a fucking pain in the ass that was. Waiting waiting waiting. Incredibly rude and apathetic government employees, and--the icing on the cake--they won't fucking mail it to me, I've got to go BACK there sometime this week and pick it up. >:( I guess Thursday between History of the Modern Middle East and Contemporary Moral Problems is about the only option...though I know I'd rather be using that time to study for the test I'll be taking that day in C.M.P. craptacular. Added bonus: the greasy shit you've got to use to get fingerprinting ink off your fingers left stupid oil marks all over my "Prada" bag. ANGER.

Thankfully, the evening did not suck with the vengeance of the afternoon--it was quite good, actually. Joe and I went to see Lost in Translation, which I really enjoyed. It definitely made me feel pretty melancholy, but it was good. For all of the silly culture clash humor, it was very realistic in its depiction of emotions and relationships.

Saturday was Hillary and Emily Extravaganza, part two. The Bliss and I started out our expedition dining at Jade Palace. Unnnngggg... ::drool:: I was chastised for lying to Pedro�our belov�d Mongolian BBQ chef�I told him Hillary and I were sisters. Pedro is probably the only practice I get speaking in Spanish in the real world, so I always treasure our conversations together. He generally asks about how our lives are going, and if we�re married. *note: not if we're married to each other, but if we have spouses...

We went to Old Navy so Hillary could buy a shirt she wanted, then to QT, and to Joe�s. I dropped off an old record of my dad�s that I thought Joe might enjoy�Maybe it�ll get more use at Casa Joe than it did in our pantry closet at home. Stopped off at Walmart, where I bought a hoodie and a tee shirt to facilitate iron-on transfer antics later, as well as other necessary but boring items. Bought something Halloween related on total impulse, which I�ll reserve writing about so it�ll still be novel should I have occasion to employ it at the end of October.

Back to La Quinta. dinner. Trading Spaces. Joe stops by briefly on his way to poker. Beckham calls and tells us about getting sober �drinking pork� (I don�t think he was totally sober....). We played with the transfer paper a good bit, and the products came out quite good. I�m now the proud owner of a Care Bears hoodie (ha ha, copyright, schmoppyright), and a shirt that says �I saved the princess� which is delightfully reminiscent of the one I had in second grade from collecting enough Nintendo fruit snack UPCs.

Like last Saturday, this one was a delightful holiday from school. H&EEII gets the thumbs up. Alas, that�s all I�ve got time for. I�m questioning how many more quality work hours my brain is going to put out after a less-than-satisfying sleep.


Random Thought

2003-09-28 / 1:25 p.m.

A few weeks back, when Joe introduced me to his friends with the theremin, I started trying to think of any other songs I knew (aside from "good vibrations") which included a theremin. I couldn't then, but I think that Cake uses one in a couple of tracks, namely: Guitar. Can anyone confirm or deny?


Sundryday

2003-09-28 / 12:26 p.m.

Taking a study break, as I just totally feel compelled to write something--even though I don't really have a whole hell of a lot to say.

Clearly, it's sunday. Doing laundry, cleaning up, studying, lamenting various things....yes, just a typical Sunday. I've been up doing this boring tasks (mostly studying) since 9:30. My plans for the day include: Studying, taking my clothes out of the dryer, folding said laundry, eating dinner, studying more, and going to sleep.

I threw out my small rosebush today. :( It was doing pretty well growing and all, but it had a pretty terrible infestation of rose-killing bugs. So, the new branches were doing well, but then the bugs would just move in and kill them. I probably could have gotten some pesticide, but that seemed like a pretty big hassle for a miniture rosebush that was already half dead.

Tonight is the beginning of all the Bl@ck Cat stuff...as usual, I'm not really that concerned with it. I already know that I'll probably be asleep by midnight (the official start time)...I didn't sleep that much last night. Sadly, the noise of everyone out decorating the campus will probably keep me awake :( I should probably go out and enjoy this beautiful day before the campus is all junked up next week. And god, what a fucking beautiful day it is. Despite my general dissatisfaction with Autumn in general, It's a perfect day out. Breezy, cool, and the sky is that incredibly deep blue that you only get in fall. ahhhh. I wish I had homework/studying that I could do outside...but unfortunately, I think it all includes me either being stationed in front of my computer, or else in the middle of a huge stack of books and papers. Alas. Okay...going to get the laundry, write a quick weekend update, and then it's back to the academic grind. Seriously...no more slacking. :)


road rage reduced

2003-09-28 / 3:32 a.m.

Today during the extravaganza, Hillary and I were cut off on I-75 by a black mercedes. Much of our rage caused by this incident was mitigated by the fact that the car had such an unfortunate licence plate:




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .