. .


blah

2003-03-26 / 12:46 a.m.

Cuba, Cuba, Cuba. I�ve been working on catching up on my 328 reading, Unfinished Business which is all about post- Cold War relations with Cuba. It�s actually more interesting than I thought it would be. I�ve really enjoyed learning about Jorge Mas Canosa, (who spell check wants to call "Jorge map canola") he was an interesting character to say the least. We watched an old 60 Minutes interview with him in class today, and he was very intriguing to listen to, despite the fact that 60 Min was obviously biased against him, and their editing made him seem a little crazier than he probably was.

All things considered, it�s been a pretty depressing day, but nothing worth writing about on that side of things

In the spirit of trying to be more pleasant, I guess I can spread good cheer that I got my graded 328 midterm back today, and was content with the B+ I received. Also, after talking to other people in my Rights class, I feel better about the B I got on that Midterm�the majority of peers I spoke with also received B�s or B-�s so I guess I did well comparatively.

Second meeting of fencing club tomorrow, and it looks like it will go better than the first. The turnout will be even better this week, and I�m enthusiastic about the future of the club. I�m hoping that we can have an informal meeting with the GSU fencing club by the end of the semester.

Though my mother and I planned to see The Hours yesterday night, we did not end up making it there. I�ve heard so many great things about that movie�in the last few days especially�I really want to see it. I�m thinking of going on Sunday if I�m caught up on my school work. I�m also looking forward to going to see Nowhere in Africa, which is coming to Lefont in April. I saw a trailer for it before City of God, and wasn�t initially very interested in seeing it, but the more I read, the better it seems to look. The fact that it won an Oscar for best Foreign Language Film is good press too

Also on "The Bright side" is how much the weather has rocked lately. I adore this campus this time of year...beyond being so incredibly beautiful here in the spring, the atmosphere is so happy when the weather is nice. I walked out of class yesterday and joined half the campus out on the quad. It looked like one big, all female public park :) lol. People sunbathing, studying, talking, eating, etc, spread out across the whole main stretch of campus. Just lovely. I just generally felt lucky--lucky to be able to analyze United States - Cuban relations in the sun, lucky just to be alive. Nice weather has such a strong positive effect on me, I wonder if that's indicative of mental instability.

Hummm, what else....uploaded some pictures. They aren�t anything too spectacular, but if you want to look at some pictures of the campus looking all Springy, pictures of my cats, or a very unflattering photo of me at the Ring ceremony, go here: "Springandcats" Speaking of rings, I�m hoping to get mine back within the next week. Herff Jones claims that it�s being shipped back to me Friday, so I think it�s fair to expect it by next Tuesday.

In other news, for as pathetic as this journal is, I�m glad you�re still reading it. Keep the job mojo coming, so I can work somewhere interesting this summer. It will benefit all of us really...I mean, think about it. The more interesting things I do, the better the journal quality will be, and the better your reading experience! I guess journals go in ebb and flow....this one shouldn�t always be boring, right? Granted, this has been a dry spell and a half, but I�m optimistic�at least about this :)




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .