. .


Nowhere in Africa

2003-04-06 / 9:38 p.m.

Last night, I went to see Nowhere in Africa, and I was impressed. It was a beautifuly made movie about change and acceptance, and also what makes a place "home". The story consists of a Jewish family who immigrates to Kenya shortly before the outbreak of WWII to escape persecution. The focus alternates between the three main characters, though I would have liked to see more emphasis on the young girl rather than the mother, who was a less likeable character for most of the movie. I still really really really want to see The Hours, as well as Bowling for Columbine.

What else...not much. Saturday was a frustrating shopping day. I spent a long time shopping for a new discman which would operate to my satisfaction on the treadmill. After using my new one for one day, I think I'm going to have to exchange it for a better model--though I don't know what I'm going to find, since I'm not willing to spend much more than I already did. Fortunately, I was able to sell my old discman, so that takes some of the edge of buying a more expensive one. Anyone have and suggestions on brands and specs? I've also got to take back the digital watch I bought at Penney's. It's cute, and would be perfect for what I need---except that I can't set it. The instructions don't work, and no one (not even people with way more common sense than I) can figure it out.

I'm hoping for this to be a good week. I should be getting my ring in the mail tomorrow, which is good. Wednesday, I'll know whether I got the job at the writing center for next fall, and I'm optomistic that I'll hear about the job at the capitol this week (send me the positive mojo!!).

Taking a break right now from all the tons of reading I've yet to catch up on, but I've got to get back to it.




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .