. .


mmmmm....brain

2004-07-06 / 4:41 p.m.

The human brain is absolutely incomprehensible to me sometimes. Granted, I�m not exactly a woman of science, but I�ll never cease to be amazed by people and their actions and emotions�.myself included. The last five months being in a Spanish speaking country have obviously exercised the language part of my brain; and there�s never been a stretch of time where I�ve been this much at a loss to understand male-female relationships, nor a stretch of time where I�ve been as introspective and learned so much about my own brain.

I guess what got me thinking about brains this afternoon was the chorus of hungry zombies outside my window making a ruckus about wanting lunch�.or maybe I�ve been working on this paper too long. ::drool::

Crackers. This is the stupidest entry ever.

Anyway, the whole brain-is-interesting segue came about when I was mulling over a dream I had last night--a dream I don�t remember a single fragment of. See, that�s the problem, I can�t remember this dream, and I�m betting that it was really fucking interesting. I woke up with a very wonderful sensation of relief, and a feeling that I had absolutely everything all figured out. Then I hit the snooze, and lost everything. When I woke up again, every part of my brain was clumsily groping for bits of it, but it was gone. I�m fairly sure that the meaning of life was revealed to me while sleeping last night, and I forgot it because of my rediscovered habit of abusing the snooze alarm.

Coincidentally, two other people I ran into over the course of the day brought up the topic of dreams they had, and they both included me. My host mother had a dream where I had an infant son. In the dream, she was my mother-in-law, though there was no detail about which of her sons I had married, nor if they were the father of the kid. She said that the baby was really cute, but really, really pale. In the dream, she said that my biological mother was trying to encourage the reluctant baby to eat even though it wouldn�t because it was too pale. Later in the afternoon, I talked to a male friend of mine, who said he had a dream where I made sushi for him, but when he asked what kind of sushi it was, I told him I made it with human meat. Squiggy, no? My host mother�s (rather uninteresting) dream aside, I wonder what it says about me that my friends have dreams of me fixing them cannibalistic dinners.


Elasmobranquios

2004-07-06 / 12:07 p.m.

Okay...the entries I said earlier that I would post are still coming, this is not them. (ahurrr. Me grammar tutor. duhhh.Arrtickulate.)

Anyway, I saw This page, The Atlanta Time Machine on .gtpj and I thought it was really cool. This is totally where I got a traffic ticket a few years back. Wooooooo.

Also, I wanted to share my extraordinarilly bad luck with you...A few days a week, I forget which, my newspaper of choice here generally runs an extra supplement for kids. It�s done in a serial format, so you collect different pieces and in the end, have a whole. They�re kind of cool, as they�re usually sciency stuff, but written for kids, so they�re easy to understand and fun to read. I don�t buy the paper every day, but when I do happen to buy it on a day with the supplements, I always end up with the worst ones. When I arrived in BsAs, they were publishing an encyclopedia of the human body. I remember getting the section on the latter part of the digestive system. Woo hoo. I can now boast knowing all kinds of spanish vocabulary about pooping. Recently, they�ve started publishing an animal encyclopedia several days a week. Simon bought a paper the other day, and ended up with a section absolutely full of cute, cuddly, animals (he let me have his pullout poster of the Giant Panda); however, the only portions of the animal encyclopedia I�ve encountered are one about roaches, beatles, and other giant ants, and today�s, which covers the EXCITING world of echinoderms through cartilaginous fish.


se me olvido

2004-07-06 / 11:39 a.m.

hahahaha. Ever since Lee�s entry linking me (Not to be confused with the other recent entry on his page with all the gratuitous nudity...) my stats have gone through the roof. ... .. ....so I feel even worse about leaving the disk with new entries on it at my house. Never fear though, I�ll post them later. I�ve got to go to my program office (which I�m looking forward to about as much as I would look forward to taking a visit to the seventh circle...), so I�ll use the free computers to upload it there. I might even upload some photos for everyone, though don�t count on them being as racy as Lee�s. For the time being, I�m off to San Carlos to read the paper.


y2k compatible

1999-03-26 / 11:58 a.m.

Ha ha ha ha!!!! y2k ate this computer�s brain. I just realized that when I update from this locutorio, I get way incorrect dates and times. According to maquina 1, it�s March 26th (friday), 1999, and almost noon....I wonder what I was doing noon on march 26th 1999....I guess I was in class at Sprayberry. heh.


I got layouted

1999-03-26 / 11:46 a.m.

I don�t have anything to say...but I wanted to update with my new template. It�s not quite finalized yet, as there�s some stuff I�m going to add when I get home, but the layout is just lovely, no? Many, many thank yous to the fabulous Lee who was awesome enough to make this for me.

He even made a happy little shadowed blockquote box, which I am using now!

Like I said, I wrote an entry the other day...and I brought it to post this morning, but I changed my mind. Sometimes, what happens in Buenos Aires stays in Buenos Aires. ;)

Wednesday, I turn in the last of the last school work, y despu�s, me voy a Iguazu. Regreso domingo 11. We�ll have the final family asado, going to hang out with the Brazilian chick who�s back visiting that weekend as well. As for the rest of the week, though I will probably be kind of lonely, I plan on avidly relaxing and living an uncharastericly hedonistic lifestyle, taking in all the BsAs I can before I go home. Eating, drinking, shopping, whatever.

This is that and that is all. Later, gator.




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .