. .


wasting away

2004-08-20 / 1:35 p.m.

I'm a spaztard and didn't realize that I have gmail invites sitting around my account. Is there anyone out there who wants one?




Smart Assery

2004-08-19 / 6:04 p.m.

Mom asked me to cancel her current ISP for her.

Me: Hi, I'd like to cancel my account
....snip boring exchange of information about account.....
Billing dude: May I ask why you're canceling your account?
Me: Um, sure. We're, uh, not going to use the internet anymore
Billing dude: Are you switching to another service provider?
Me: Nope, we just aren't using the internet anymore.
Billing dude: Not at all? Why?
Me:We're embracing the Mennonite faith in this household.
Billing dude:Can I interest you in our special premium pac--wait, wha?
Me:My mother and I are returning to a simpler time. We no longer need modern trappings like the internet.
Billing dude:Oh, well, okay...
Me: In fact, can we hurry this up, sir? I don't suppose we should even be using the phone.




Music and movies and TV, oh my!

2004-08-19 / 5:15 p.m.

Hey! They Might be Giants is playing the 25th at Variety Playhouse. That seems like a terribly fun concert, and tickets are reasonable. Anyone interested in going?

Speaking of...There are several movies out now that I'd like to see. If you're reading, living in the metro area, and are interested in seeing: Dodgeball, Napoleon Dynamite, Garden State, or Anchorman, please contact me.

As far as movies coming out this fall, today was the first time I had seen anything about the Wes Anderson movie that's coming out in November or December. With the teeny bit I saw about it, it looks like it has potential.

What about this? The next "Family Guy"? Big load of shit? One season wonder which is later picked up by cartoon network to become a giant sensation and sell zillions of DVD boxed sets? From what I see about it on the official website, it looks pretty contrived and lame, and it also seems to already draw suspicious parallels to Family Guy....but who knows until it actually aires. And the new eps. of Family Guy? All I see for a date is "2005."

Why has cake not announced any stops in Atlanta? :(




I shouldn't feel this old....

2004-08-19 / 9:24 a.m.

There are two high school girls that are often at the gym in the morning. I've picked up from their conversation that they go straight from the gym to school (wow, I couldn't imagine doing that)--I always run into them primping in the locker room. I don't mind them, as they don't fill the cardiovascular equipment room with inane chatter at high volumes like the Cheerleaders did. In fact, the only similarity between them and the cheerleaders is that they go to the ole' alma mater, and they make me shallow-catty-jealous with how good looking they are...but that covers a good chunk of the 18-24 females in county cobb. Annnnyway. So this morning, I caught a bit of their discussion as I was getting my stuff out of the locker room to go home and it made me feel surprisingly old; I guess in my mind, when I see high schoolers, I feel like they're more or less the same age as I am.

"Blitzkrieg Bop" was playing over the speakers, and they were both rockin' out to it in their underwear. ... and if that doesn't sound like a scene out of a bad teenage sex comedy, may a piano fall from the sky and knock me cold. ... So they're all giggling and singing, and one turns to the other and says: "Hee hee, it's cool, we're eighties girls tee hee!" Nevermind the fact that I'm almost positive that Blitzkrieg Bop came out in the seventies, but that's not important to the storySo the other responds: "We weren't even born in the 80's!"

"Hey! I was born in 1989, that counts" The other replies.

Sweet crackers. These chicks were only, like, 5 during the whole OJ Simpson thing. They were toddlers during the Bush-Clinton campaign. They probably couldn't even talk during the Gulf War. Granted, I was young when this stuff happened, but I certainly remember it.

This was on par with what happened last weekend....My car was Filthy McDirty, so I stopped at a fundraiser car wash being run by the band kids from my high school. I mentioned that I was a Sparkleberry band alumna, and one of them asked me when I graduated. When I said 2001, her response was: "Woah! That was a long time ago!" Okay, so maybe she was just a spaz with a poor grasp of time (good with scrubbing tires though!), but still, it was weird.




This is a one forum kind of town, bub.

2004-08-19 / 9:08 a.m.

Ohhhhh. Screw you, Bravenet. There's a new comments section in town. Thanks to the clever Lee for pointing me towards one that both seems to work, and was easy to set up--even for a computerspaz such as myself....Though I am having a problem though. When I plug the code into my entry template, the same set of comments show up on every entry. The only way I could get it working right was to manually include the code at the bottom of each individual entry. Any diarylanders and/or people smarter and more HTML savvy than I (read: 99% of people who read this) know if there's a way around this?






All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .