. .


Kickass

2004-09-16 / 12:28 p.m.

Google's Picassa program is just what I've been needing to organize all the zillions of photos I've aquired. Yay for free software. Granted, it's far from perfect, but it serves many purposes that were left unserved by the crap I had before.


Officer Krupke, kruck you

2004-09-15 / 6:11 p.m.

Writing as quietly as I can on a noisy keyboard...In a lab, paying 36% of my attention to watching West Side Story for Spanish class. It's more enjoyable than I remembered it.

Quasi-good news, phrased very choppilly by a favorite professor:

"Emily,

i've talked to both friends. have lots of info. Call me or drop by - but when? I probably won't come in til late tomorrow afternoon - 5? Fri between 11 and 1 is good. I'll also try you then maybe.

pretty good news as well as info - IU [indiana university] friend tho't you wouldn't have any trouble getting into any top school. Money could be issue, however.

call "

this could be good news. or bad.


Audible Sigh

2004-09-15 / 3:43 p.m.

I haven�t written in awhile. Don�t say that no one cares, because I clearly do. I assure you though; it�s only been lack of time, and not lack of words causing this disruption. I�m only writing now because I�ve got too much time to just wait until my next class, and not enough to get anything productive done. As you�d probably expect, I�ve been busy. Busy with class mostly, and trying to sort my way through applying for grad school in my spare time. Unfortunately, after a fairly long stint of irrational exuberance, I worry I�m getting back to my old tricks of being morose and self-loathing (and annoying). This is unfortunate, but I doubt it comes as a surprise.

On the bright side, I�ve realized that everyone was right and I was wrong: Hillary�s re-location and the collapse of things with Joe did not signify the end of the world�I�m certainly unhappy about Hillary being so far away, but I still get to communicate with her pretty often, I get to see her soon, and maybe I�ll spend two years near her working on my masters degree at GWU (yeah right). I'd like a friendship with Joe, but who can ever predict how these things will work out. Furthermore, I�m super lucky to have lots of people in my life right now who, (if I may invoke a tired Emilyism), would care if I was run over by a giant truck.

Remind me to write about my unconventional study break later...now I have to go to class. Chau




Yatta!

2004-09-12 / 7:16 p.m.

brilliant.

::sigh:: Hillary, doesn't it seem like only yesterday that we laughed ourselves stupid watching flash animation in your freshman dorm?

Edit: That link was intended to point you to watch "Hakugojyuuichi Forever"




The smart choice

2004-09-10 / 8:15 a.m.

The grad school process has reached the point where it can be safely labeled as �insane.� Already insane, and it�s only just begun. :( It seems like every time I get an answer to a question I have, six more questions pop up.

Fortunately, I had two superinformative (and fun) chats with my two favorite professors yesterday. Even though I�m not sure who can supply my other recommendations, I think that I�ll get really good ones from these two.

My big problem at the moment is picking out where to apply. All of my choices so far have been top fifty, and I think that�s overly-ambitious for me. Here�s the thing though...I picked out my dream schools, plus one near the bottom of the list, plus applying to all of the schools in Georgia. Turns out though that both UGA and Georgia State have stellar programs, and with that they have high admissions standards. Ung. I wish I was smarter. I fear I won�t be getting into any of these schools.

Anyway, hopefully more update to follow. I�ve been too scattered to write lately. Every free second seems to be parked in front of a computer, comparing class size, percent of applicants admitted, financial aid available, etc...




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .