. .


-

2004-11-10 / 5:45 p.m.

"This email is for any student who is interested in joining the LBTQQI support group for next semester, as well as for students who are interested in attending workshops on LBTQQI issues."

I'm not kidding, I think this club adds, eliminates, and/or re-orders the letters in its acronym every semester. I distinctly remember an �A� for allies when I was a fresh(wo)man, whereas now the allies are tacked on as LBTQQI-allies rather than getting their very own piece of the alphabet. I�m pretty sure that when I started at TheCollege, it was LBTQA (Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer and Allied). Now, I�m left wondering where the extra �Q� and brand new �I� came from.

In other news, Operation Fit-into-black-dress continues to be a whopping failure. Furthermore, completely fell off of the willpower wagon this morning at the staff meeting when I was tired, depressed, and seated behind a giant Kroger bag of chocolate. Go me. So not only do I fail at this, but I�m back trapped in the ridiculous trap of feeling absolutely wretched about caring at all. How fucking shallow am I to be so bothered about my love handles when the average global temperature is rising, people in Sudan are being killed in mass, and there�s a war going on? I suck.

On a lighter note, today�s game was, �what faculty member here do you think is most likely to have a secret double life?� It�s always the one you least expect who�s the stripper/high preist of a sham religion/trying in vain to dig a hole to China.





Now's the time to get out of town

2004-11-09 / 7:52 p.m.

5 shitty vacation locations for our upcoming winter break:

1. Fallujah
2. Orlando, FL
3. Guantanamo Bay
4. Hattiesburg, MS
5. Faulkland Islands Las Malvinas

....clearly having a rough moment with the paper.


Thank goodness that's taken care of!

2004-11-09 / 6:46 p.m.

Ashcroft, Evans resign from Bush�s Cabinet

"'The objective of securing the safety of Americans from crime and terror has been achieved,' Ashcroft wrote in a five-page handwritten letter to Bush"

phew! I'm glad to know that crime and terror have been wiped out. ::dusts palms::

In other news, the heat is on. doo doo doo doo doo, doo doo doo doo doo The heat is ah-ah-on. ....

.....
...
.
...
Clearly time to write the paper.


Show me where the gym is

2004-11-04 / 7:10 p.m.

Tuesday, before the election insanity, Roger and I were walking to my car when a SUV full of high school-aged girls stopped and asked us: �can you show me where the gym is?� As I, like a normal person, begin to explain where the gym is. I hear Roger snicker behind me, then add in a contrived macho voice: �oh, I can show you where the gym is.� I turn around, and he�s stripped off his shirt and is doing the whole flexing-the-arm-arbitrarilly-and-jokingly-to-indicate-orientation-of-the-gym bit. The girls got a kick out of it.

In a related vein, out of the (relatively few) traits Roger and I have in common, I think that our propensity to speak really loudly is the most unfortunate. When we were talking about humorous essays last week in nonfic, the professor made some suggestions for people who couldn�t find anything funny to write about. One of them was to purposely put yourself in a situation that would likely cause hilarity to ensue�something that you probably usually wouldn�t do, and would be funny because it was such a contrast. Roger and I could have gone to a golf game, or a librarian�s conference or something.

Nonfiction essay reading is 6 de diciembre. 3 days before my birthday, and my entrance into what Hillary christened the "Year of Cynicism." I already got two suggestions that I read my fish essay there, but I was kind of hoping to read my McDonald�s one. Not sure, but I�ve got awhile to decide. I�m not really worried about it; it�s just the most fun thing to think about of all my academic end-of-semester commitments.






singing orphans don't cheer me up

2004-11-03 / 6:56 p.m.

Sweet crap, I wish I had brought something else to work on during this film showing. While some of the films we�ve watched for this class have been pretty good, �chac: the rain god� kind of sucks. And by �kind of�, I mean �really.� I don�t get what�s going on, and the film doesn�t seem appealing enough for me to care. Added bonus: lots of annoying chanting to the gods. I guess this could partly be due to my foul mood.

In addition to the election malaise that�s probably afflicting most of us, I�ve been sick all day, I�m tired, and I feel generally repulsive and ugly.

Clearly, the election has me down; though I�m not particularly in the mood to soapbox about it now. I recognize that all the things that are bothering me about it (and then some) have been covered more articulately than I ever could manage ad nauseum. I think the majority of the voting population made the wrong choice. I think we're ignoring some really, really, important issues. I think our vision is a little short sided. I could go on, but I've had enough melancholic political discussions in the last 24 hours to last me a little while. I will say though that, on the more local level, I�m particularly appalled by the overwhelming passage of the gay marriage amendment here. Way to go, Joja (along with your 10 hateful buddies). I just don�t see how any educated thoughtful person could agree with this. Even if you�re diametrically opposed to homosexuality, surely you can see it isn�t fair to deny economic and judicial rights to people because of their sexual preference. That�s called making policy based on your personal values (more often than not religious values). Marriage in the US brings about too much church-state interaction anyway�why not extend legal marriage to any pair of consenting adults, and let individual religions marginalize gays on their own? But that thing about not soapboxing�.I meant that.

Ug. I�m definitely mired in a funk lately, worried about the future of things. My mother calls it being overly pessimistic, Roger speculated �existential crisis��. Whatever it is, I think the good that�s going to come of it is being surer about my decision to go to grad school. It would be nice to feel like I could do something beneficial for existence, and maybe a master�s in environmental policy is the right track�. I�m not dead set on that, but it seems like a good start.

Though make no mistake, I�m still enamored with this Media and Public Affairs program at GWU. ::swoon::







trying to be funny.

2004-10-29 / 10:59 p.m.

My "humorous essay" for nonfiction. I'm not sure if it's really funny or not; I like it, but I'm weird. I'd appreciate any feedback.

Not a Fish Story
-or-
The Twelve that got Away

My mother�s first aquarium since her childhood clunked around in the trunk as she nostalgically told the story of the little black fish that she and her brothers owned in the sixties. Unfortunately, one of them had become pregnant, only to give birth and rapidly devour her young. My mother proudly recounted being able to save two of the ill-fated offspring from the mother�s jaws. I was only half listening as I entered into a staring match into one of the guppies that might have been a replacement for the grandchildren my mother didn�t anticipate having.

�What should we name our fish?� she asked me.

Our fish? No mom, not our fish. I�m going back to school in a couple of weeks. They�re your fish. Your responsibility.� I already sensed that this was going to be a disaster. I had no empirical reason for believing this, just one of those gut feelings.

�Fine, I don�t trust you around my fish anyway, but help me name them.� She pursed her lips with thought, and then enthusiastically added: �We should think of a theme�that way, when I get them fish brothers, they can all have similar names!� I sat and thought for a minute, and started presenting various naming ideas.

�What about picking from the seven deadly sins?� I asked.

�Too gloomy.�

�How about Greek mythological heroes?�

�Too esoteric.�

�What about something really absurd, like the kind of names that overly affectionate pet-people give their animals�like Mr. Purry, or Snugglepuff?�

�mmmmmmm. Perhaps,� she mumbled pensively.

I continued to list out numerous suggestions that were subsequently rejected. As we approached home, my mother asked me in desperation to repeat a few of my suggestions. In the end, she wasn�t able to decide between Greek heroes and absurd names, so she opted for both. Thus, Ajax and Agamemnon Swimmypants were named. They were welcomed into our home with a ceremonious release from their plastic bag. Mom lifted each of our cats up to the tank in turn to welcome Ajax and Mr. Swimmypants into our family; the younger of the two cats received them with an aggressive paw slap onto the aquarium glass.

I paid little attention to the fish, and went about my daily business in the weeks remaining before I moved back into my dorm. One afternoon, I came home to a voicemail from my mother, and called her at her friend�s house. Pleasantries were exchanged, and then she asked me, �Have you seen the new fish?�

I strolled over to the tank and replied, �Yeah, he�s nice.�

He?� She asked.

�Yes, he. why?� I answered impatiently.

�Not�� she paused and swallowed ��fish, plural?�

There was a long pause, and then a sigh before she explained. Apparently she had purchased two fish to join the original two. For those readers with poor computation skills, or lacking a majority of their fingers, that meant that there should have been four fish total, not three. Ajax was nowhere to be found. We discovered later that Ajax was actually sucked up by the filter. Yes, a fish tank filter that can suck up small fish: what a brilliant design. Unfortunately, we did not discover the origins of Ajax�s death before Ajax II also fell prey to the filter.

The unnamed brother of Ajax II and Agamemnon Swimmypants lived together in harmony for a week and a half before stricken with a fish disease called Ich. Symptoms of Ich include white spots, decreased appetite, and death. It wasn�t long before all of the occupants of the tank had passed on.

I moved back to college, leaving the empty tank behind me, and believing that my mother had given up on fish husbandry. I clearly didn�t give sufficient credit to her tenacity, as she called me several days later to tell me that she had purchased three new fish. This new generation of fish would be named after her maternal uncles. Her mother had had seven brothers, so this seemed like a safe theme to use even with the most ephemeral of creatures. The next time I was at home, I was properly introduced to Warren, Johnny, and Weeb.

Weeb?� I asked, laughing at the absurdity of the name. �Which of your uncles went by �Weeb�?�

Mom chuckled. �Weeb wasn�t really my uncle; he was a friend of Uncle Johnny who we called �uncle.��

�What the hell kind of name is Weeb?�

My mother reflected for a minute, then answered, �I don�t really remember Weeb all that well. Once your uncle Joe and I were riding in a car with Johnny and Weeb, and I think Weeb peed himself.�

�Your uncle was friends with a grown man who pissed himself in a car?!� I couldn�t hide my incredulity, �and you called him uncle?!�

�Yeah, I guess that is really bizarre.�

As you may have guessed, these fish didn�t last much longer than their predecessors. I received a gloomy voicemail informing me that Warren, the bacteria sucking member of the trio, was found dead under the eaves of his favorite ornamental rock. Johnny and Weeb passed not long after. My mother maintained that their death was probably due to bereavement over the death of Warren. While their average lifespan wasn�t exceeding a week, my mother seemed to be getting attached to these fish; at least attached enough to make up all kinds of stories about their thoughts, hopes, dreams, and fishflake preference.

Before I made another trip home, Ed, Art, and Buck had all come and gone. Still, even after ten fish, her quest to successfully raise a fish didn�t flag. She called me excitedly one evening to tell me of her new hope in fish parenthood.

�I went to PetSmart again today��

�Oh, mom. No, tell me you didn�t,� The quick succession of fish was becoming confusing and depressing, and I couldn�t bring myself to endorse the adoption of any additional fish.

�No, no, it�ll be different this time. See, I went in there to ask for a refund for Art, and--�

I interrupted her, �A refund? Will they do that?�

�Yeah, it�s great. They come with a three week guarantee. Unfortunately, they couldn�t give me my money back. They claim that you need both the receipt and the bodies. Next time I�ll know better��

I shuddered with the thought of my mother returning dead fish to the store. I knew she would do it too. I would not be surprised in the slightest to see her carrying a bag of fish carcasses�not only for the roughly $2.99 per fish she would get back, but just for the principle of the thing.

�Anyway, they gave me two of a new breed that are supposed to be really hearty.�

�Aren�t you out of uncles yet?� I asked.

�Ha ha,� she replied sardonically, �I�ll have you know that I have two more uncles. These two are named Dick and Jack, and they�re destined to live a long, long time.� She paused for a moment before adding, �The real Dick and Jack lived into their eighties,� as if to validate her argument.

A couple of weeks later, I had the occasion of being at home, and was shocked to see two healthy looking fish in the tank when I entered the house. �Congratulations, mom,� I cried, �They�re still alive!� She smiled, but then hesitated. I could tell she was debating whether or not to tell me something. �What is it?� I asked her.

�Well, yes. Alive, but they fight an awful lot.� It was true; they fish were nipping at each other as we spoke. She tentatively continued, �so there�s a lot of fighting, and frankly, Jack has seen better days. In fact, we call him �One-Eyed Jack� now.� It took me a few seconds before what she said registered in my brain. Sure enough, when I peered into the tank, I could see that one of the orange fish had a pus-colored hole where his eye once was.

�Oh that�s disgusting.� The look on my mother�s face revealed clear defeat.

After One Eyed Jack and Dick shuffled off this mortal coil; my mother capitulated and took a break from fish. The aquarium is currently sitting empty in our kitchen; though she mentioned not long ago the prospect of getting some of those little black fish like she had when she was a kid.







All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .