. .


Algo tiene que ceder

2007-02-09 / 1:17 a.m.

Fun fact! In 2005, over 7 million people were on probation, in jail or prison, or on parole at year end -- 3.2% of all U.S. adult residents or 1 in every 32 adults. In 2005 the Federal Bureau of Investigation's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR) estimated that there were about 1,846,400 State and local arrests for drug abuse violations in the United States. The Bureau of Justice Statistics is a fun source.

I went trolling around a mall last weekend that had a White Barn Candle Co. and I discovered that they had many, many more scents of refills for the air freshener I use. Huzzah! After the usual monotony of Lilac and the last unpleasant month of sandalwood vanilla, I was looking for a change. After huffing about everything in the place, I ended up with sage and honeysuckle. The sage is what I tried first. It�s different at home somehow. I still like it, but there�s something about it that reminds me of guys�it smells a little like you might imagine a nice scent for men�s deodorant�.but I still like it. Frankly, it makes me think sexy thoughts when I come in the house; my living room smells like (clean) male virility.

I like Diane Keaton, but it seems that her character in this movie that�s coming out is pretty much the same as her character in �Something�s Gotta Give.� And don�t even start with me about watching it�.it was a Saturday and it was on TBS. Don�t judge.

What is the draw of making boring �video blogs� of yourself, or delivering boring treatises about boring stuff and posting them on youtube? I thought it would be funny to find some really hilariously lame videos and link to them here, but they all seem to be equally boring and low-quality. Still, I like this guy�.he speaks with such authority for a dude that doesn�t look like he has much in the way of experience with hot ladies. Also, his logic is hilariously off and doesn�t seem to be delivered in any reasonable order.

Tonight in ninja class we sparred, which is about my favorite thing after sunshine and amphetamines. It was really fun, though I didn�t fare well. I mean, I�m comfortable being the worst in the class (I�m not being modest, I really do think I�m the worst), but I don�t usually get knocked around to the extent that I did tonight. The illustration to your right illustrates all the places that are sore and/or bruised.

I was thinking about mainstream, well-produced pop music on my way home tonight, and was wondering what was really considered super-mainstream "pop" from around 1992 to 1995. The stuff I remember being popular at the end of elementary school and most of middle school is probably not considered "pop"...I suppose me and my posse listened to alternative and rock pretty much exclusively. And TLC. A search of which pop artists won grammys during that time leads me to believe that there was no exciting pop music between the Bangles and the shiny pop explosion of BackstreetBoys/N�Sync/Britney/Jessica/Mandy/Christina/98 degrees, etc�I may be wrong. I�m probably wrong. But this is my page, so whatever.

I suppose that the biggest news on the climate change front is still the IPCC report (GO READ IT), and I don�t feel like complaining about the class I�m having trouble in (ahhhh! I have to write an essay by Monday on Rawls�Original Position applied to contemporary policy and I haven�t finished the reading and I don�t understand it fuck ahhh SOS someone help me!), so I guess it�s bedtime. XOXO. Goodnight.







Claws out

2007-01-28 / 11:23 p.m.

Since my last entry, I have seen three films: Pan�s Labyrinth, The Illusionist and Little Miss Sunshine. I liked all three, but didn�t really love any of them. Pan�s Labyrinth was good, but not what I expected. I expected it to be a strange, semi-fantasy, fairytale style film. After seeing trailers and images like the one to the left I was also really excited to see it on the big screen, as it looked really visually exciting and impressive to watch (also creepy). Before I got so excited though, I should have remembered the lessons I learned from all of the Latin American and Spanish films I watched in high school and college. Endings are rarely happy�especially not in any way like a fairy tale. See fig.A I mean, unless you count the sweet release of death and the exit from a brutal world as a happy ending�. Still, when all the votes were counted, I still enjoyed it. I liked the whole obedience theme. Though anyone thinking about Pan�s Labyrinth should know ahead of time that the violence is pretty graphic. And, uh, gross. The illusionist was pretty good, though I already knew the basic trick of the whole thing. And Little Miss Sunshine? It was just delightful. I enjoyed it very, very much.

Tomorrow, Lucy goes to get an operation on her feet to repair the damage done from (the horrible, brutal practice of) declawing. I think I�m done agonizing about the decision to have her go through it, but that doesn�t mean I�m not feeling pretty blue about putting my stupid little cat through so much pain and misery. �Get Well� and �Good Luck� wishes are appreciated, I will make sure to forward any to her.

I've found a few interesting musical groups due to being featured on Veronica Mars. They've use a lot of stuff by Air...and while it isn't my usual fare, I find it enjoyable in a mellow, background music way. I'm not sure if I can qualify as a fan, but they're worth a listen to in my humble opinion. I know at least one other person who has mentioned liking the music...so I'm probably not completely insane.

School is eating my face this semester. I am not a fan of the philosophy. In fact, the material in this policy-meets-philosophy class makes me so crazy, I almost punched Roger in the face after he pressed me on what it means for something to be �good� for society. Refraining from physical violence toward others, I merely threw the remote across the room and cried. It�s good because it�s good. Fuckit. Honestly, it isn�t anything intrinsically wrong with the material, it�s just so freaking hard for me to get through the reading and understand it�The time-consuming nature of reading (and trying to absorb) �Economic Analysis and Moral Philosophy� has resulted in less time spent on work in my other classes. Which is less than fabulous. Also, in about 6 weeks, I have to take comprehensive exams. Urrnnnghhh....

In other news, Gin and Tonic is my favorite drink again. Time for another and spending some quality time with my kitty. Chau.








All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .