. .


Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys

2002-11-09 / 1:47 p.m.

Last night, Suzanne, Michelle, and I watctched Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys. I enjoyed it, even though I went into it thinking it would be a commedy (which it was not).

DLOAB reminded me a lot of every single movie I've watched in Spanish. It starts of to be a drama, but it's usually something swee or happy, or lighthearted and funny. (see Camila, Como Agua Para Chocolate, Doce Horas, etc...) That's where those crafty filmmakers have you fooled though, and at the very end, they add something super tragic and sad.

This was the case with DLOAB. ***spoilers below*** It started off as a drama about 4 high school boys. One of them loves a emotionally tortured girl. There are interludes done in animated, comic book style that mirror the events and emotions of the action through a typical, cheesy, comic book storyline. Thy guys draw comics, and terrorize their catholic school with pranks. The boys fight, but they make up. one of them fights with the girl, but they make up. Then, a horrible prank goes wrong, and one of the boys is brutally killed on screen by a mountain lion. Oh. um. yeah. Very impacting, but sudden in my opinion. Still, I enjoyed it. The funny parts were funny, and the sad parts were generally pretty effective. All things considered, I give Dangerous Lives of Altar boys a thumbs up.




All intellectual content is � Emily. Some rights are reserved.
Don't steal from Emmy. She bites.
.
. .
Content
Latest
Archive
Profile

LiveJournal feed

Communicate
E-Mail
Notes
Forum

Recent
I have been blogging! (II)
aural love
put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
hams
best. party souvenir. ever.

Credit
Diaryland
Pattern
LeeboZeebo.
Comments by HaloScan

Outside the Box


[ Registered ]

Declaration of New Patriotism

Em TV

prolific time on hold with electric co.
best imitation of myself

www.flickr.com









. . .